published Monday, December 14th, 2009

TCU’s Jerry Hughes wins Lott Trophy

  • photo
    Tennessee's Eric Berry was up for the Ronnie Lott Award on Sunday night. (AP Photo/Wade Payne, File)
  • photo
    University of Alabama photo Alabama's Rolando McClain was up for the Ronnie Lott Award on Sunday night.

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. (AP) — TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes has won the Lott Trophy.

Hughes received the award named for Hall of Fame defensive back Ronnie Lott on Sunday night at the Pacific Club. It honors on-field performance and personal character among defensive players.

Hughes won over finalists Eric Berry of Tennessee, Rolando McClain of Alabama and Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska.

Hughes, a two-time Mountain West defensive player of the year, led the undefeated Horned Frogs in sacks (11.5) and tackles for losses (15). TCU will play Boise State in the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 5.

Comments do not represent the opinions of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, nor does it review every comment. Profanities, slurs and libelous remarks are prohibited. For more information you can view our Terms & Conditions and/or Ethics policy.
please login to post a comment

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.