published Tuesday, February 2nd, 2010

Tennessee: Bredesen seeks disaster declaration

NASHVILLE — Gov. Phil Bredesen has requested a federal natural disaster designation for agriculture for seven additional counties because of rain and flooding in September and October.

They are Fentress, Giles, Madison, Morgan, Putnam, Van Buren and White.

A disaster designation would make farmers in these and adjoining counties eligible to apply for assistance through their local U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency. Qualifying farmers are eligible for emergency loans and supplemental farm payments.

According to the governor's office, farmers in these counties have reported crop losses ranging from 30 to 50 percent for major commodities.

Farmers in several Tennessee counties are already eligible to apply for federal farm assistance.

about Associated Press...

The Associated Press

Comments do not represent the opinions of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, nor does it review every comment. Profanities, slurs and libelous remarks are prohibited. For more information you can view our Terms & Conditions and/or Ethics policy.
please login to post a comment

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.