published Friday, February 11th, 2011

Chattanooga: Collin Cherry named medical society president

Dr. Collin Cherry has been named 2011 president of the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Medical Society, according to a news release.

Cherry succeeds Dr. Nita Shumaker. Dr. John McCarley was named president-elect. Dr. Colleen Schmitt, a gastroenterologist is secretary-treasurer.

Cherry is an Internist at Ridgeside Internal Medicine and chief executive officer of Beacon Health in Chattanooga. He went to the University of Tennessee School of Medicine. He will serve as president through January 2012.

McCarley, a nephrologist with Nephrology Associates, will become president of the Medical Society in 2012. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine. Dr. Shumaker, a pediatrician with Galen North Pediatrics, will continue to serve on the board as immediate past president.

Also joining the 2011 Medical Society board for first terms are Drs. David Armstrong and Andrew Fowler. Other directors are Drs. Kirk Brody, Jonathan Cohen, Tareck Kadrie, Chris LeSar, Emily Reeves-Douglas, B.W. Ruffner, David Seaberg, Wayne Scott, and Christopher Young,

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

Comments do not represent the opinions of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, nor does it review every comment. Profanities, slurs and libelous remarks are prohibited. For more information you can view our Terms & Conditions and/or Ethics policy.
please login to post a comment

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.