published Wednesday, April 10th, 2013

Hamilton County Council of PTAs presents awards

  • photo
    Orchard Knob Elementary principal LaFrederick Thirkill sorts through papers in his office in Chattanooga.
    Photo by Staff File Photo /Chattanooga Times Free Press.

Several individuals and groups took home awards from the Hamilton County Council of PTAs' annual awards dinner, held Monday at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. The group, which represents parent-teacher associations from across the county, honored local PTAs, principals and supporters with the following awards:

• Elementary school principal of the year: LaFrederick Thirkill, Orchard Knob Elementary

• Middle school principal of the year: Brent Eller, Loftis Middle

• High school principal of the year: Tobin Davidson, Sale Creek Middle-High

• Elementary school Mary Jo Clark PTA of the Year: Nolan Elementary

• Middle school Mary Jo Clark PTA of the Year: Soddy-Daisy Middle

• High school Mary Jo Clark PTA of the Year: East Hamilton Middle-High

• Most volunteer hours for a magnet school: Chattanooga School for the Arts and Sciences, 14,893.5 hours

• Most volunteer hours for a non-magnet school: Nolan Elementary, 11,685 hours

• Largest PTA membership: Nolan Elementary

• Largest PTA membership according to enrollment: Nolan Elementary

• Largest percentage membership growth: Hixson Middle

• Sigrid Stewart "Friend of PTA" Award: Frank Chambers, Youth Fund Alliance

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.