published Saturday, August 2nd, 2014

Sequatchie County ballot full of contested races


The polls in Sequatchie County open at 9 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. CDT.

Sequatchie County's ballot is filled with nonpartisan contested races for sheriff, county executive, County Commission, road superintendent and constable.

Early voting ends this afternoon and Election Day is Thursday. Jerrie Hickey, Sequatchie's administrator of elections, said turnout in early voting has been good.

"We've been busy," Hickey said Friday afternoon. Voter interest is high because of several hot contests, she said.

"We have a couple of heated races in the road superintendent and sheriff races, and in some of the County Commission races in different districts," she said.


Sheriff Ronnie Hitchcock, who has held the seat since 2002, faces a challenge from William Barker, and incumbent County Executive Keith Cartwright, who is seeking his second term, is in a battle with Mayme H. Phillips.

Road Superintendent Tommy Sims, who won his post in 2006, is facing Mark T. McLain.


Two-thirds of Sequatchie's County Commission districts are contested.

It's a four-way race for two seats in County Commission District 1 among Connie Faircloth, Richard Edward Harvey, Chester R. Shell and Gary Williams.

It's the same in District 2, where Ronald Follett, Brenda Lambert, Winston D. Pickett and Bobby Sherman are vying for two seats.

Districts 3, 4 and 7 are uncontested, but there's a three-way tilt for two seats in each of three districts.

In District 5, the hopefuls are Jeff Barger, Denise J. Kell and Paul David Powell.

In District 6, it's David Cartwright, Terry W. Dishman and Randall F. "Randy" Phillips Jr.

And in District 8, Wayne Clemons, Tommy Johnson and Phillip David Martin are running.

District 9 has a five-man showdown among Norman L. Christian, Jeff Mackey, R.E. "Bud" Schermerhorn, Tom Vennero and Don E. Walker for those two seats.


There are five contested constable races among the nine county districts, two of them with a trio of contenders.

In District 2, James "J.D." David Hixson II is facing Travis D. Sherman. In District 3, Justin Nave, LaVaughn Seals and Lee A. Skyles are the contestants.

District 4 has a race among Derrick Lee Bice, Donald Custer and Chris David Hughes.

A two-man race is set for District 5 between Robert L. "Bobby" Henry and Tommy Hickey.

Derrick Morrison and Jackie Shell are facing off for the constable seat in District 8.

Contact staff writer Ben Benton at,, or 423-757-6569.

about Ben Benton...

Ben Benton is a news reporter at the Chattanooga Times Free Press. He covers Southeast Tennessee and previously covered North Georgia education. Ben has worked at the Times Free Press since November 2005, first covering Bledsoe and Sequatchie counties and later adding Marion, Grundy and other counties in the northern and western edges of the region to his coverage. He was born and raised in Cleveland, Tenn., a graduate of Bradley Central High School. Benton ...

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.