published Thursday, February 20th, 2014

Mozart's tragic Symphony No. 40 in CSO Chamber Series - Feb. 23

One of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's most-admired works, Symphony No. 40, will be presented at 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 23, in the CSO Chamber Series in the Sheraton Read House Silver Ballroom, 827 Broad St.

The program by the Chattanooga Symphony & Opera musicians also will include Jacques Casterede's "Flutes en Vacances" and Antonio Vivaldi's Concerto for Two Trumpets in C Major. Kayoko Dan will conduct.

Mozart completed Symphony No. 40 in July 1788, a summer historians say was a time of desperate financial straits for the already famous composer. He died three and a half years later at age 35.

CSO officials describe the work as "tragic in tone [and] intensely emotional."

In online program notes for Utah's Symphony of the Canyons, researcher Geoff Kuenning says the 40th "seems to embody Mozart's own unhappiness at his circumstances in its opening movements, yet at the finish erupts with the irrepressible ebullience that characterizes so much of his music and that has brought so much joy to those who have suffered far less than he did."

Tickets are $25. To purchase, visit or call 423-267-8583.

about Staff Report...

Get breaking news from the Times Free Press on Twitter at or by visiting us on Facebook or Twitter at the right:

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »


Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.