published Sunday, July 6th, 2014

Consumer Watch: Veterans aid services ease transition home


by Ellen Phillips

Happy Belated 4th of July. I’m so proud to provide a list of services that provide advocacy and support to ease the transition home for our veterans, as well as for the heroes who have already returned. I urge readers to research the sites in order to offer a helping hand and a welcome home for these valiant men and women.

1 American Women Veterans (americawomenveterans.org) was founded by a Purple Heart recipient to raise awareness of female vets with both lawmakers and communities.

2 Coalition to Salute America’s Heroes (saluteheroes.org) provides emergency financial and other assistance to those disabled in Operation Iraqi Freedom or Operation Enduring Freedom.

3 Final Salute Inc. (finalsalute.org) offers transitional housing and emergency financial services to female vets who face homelessness.

4 Guitars for Vets (guitars4vets.org) and Musicorps (musicorps.net) provide musical therapy for those veterans struggling with injuries and PTSD.

5 Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America (iava.org) helps with mental-health support and advice on job-seeking and the GI Bill.

6 National Military Family Association (militaryfamily.org) provides services to spouses and children.

7 Operation Homefront (operationhomefront.net) assists our service members and their families with financial, food, repairs, and moving relief, among others.

8 Service Women’s Action Network (servicewomen.org/about) helps with legal and social service referrals and aid for survivors of military sexual trauma.

9 Student Veterans of America (studentveterans.org) is a peer-to-peer support group that helps vets pursue a postsecondary degree, using the GI Bill.

10 Team Rubicon (teamrubiconusa.org) sends vets into disaster areas where their skills are most needed and can make the most difference.

11 Veterans Expeditions (vetexpeditions.com) encompass wilderness trips that help our veterans reconnect with themselves and with the beauty of American they served.

12 Wounded Warrior Project (woundedwarriorproject.org) enables us to help thousands of injured warriors returning home from the current conflicts and to provide assistance to their families.

Ellen Phillips is a retired English teacher who has written two consumer-oriented books. Her Consumer Watch column appears every Sunday. Email her at consumerwatch@timesfreepress.com.

about Ellen Phillips...

Ellen Phillips is a retired English teacher who has written two consumer-oriented books. Her Consumer Watch column appears on Saturdays in the Business section of the paper. An expanded version is at www.timesfreepress.com under Local Business.

Comments do not represent the opinions of the Chattanooga Times Free Press, nor does it review every comment. Profanities, slurs and libelous remarks are prohibited. For more information you can view our Terms & Conditions and/or Ethics policy.
please login to post a comment

Other National Articles

videos »         

photos »         

e-edition »

advertisement
advertisement

Find a Business

400 East 11th St., Chattanooga, TN 37403
General Information (423) 756-6900
Copyright, Permissions, Terms & Conditions, Privacy Policy, Ethics policy - Copyright ©2014, Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
This document may not be reprinted without the express written permission of Chattanooga Publishing Company, Inc.