Dade families can get free car seats

Dade families can get free car seats

January 19th, 2018 by Staff Report in Breaking News

Georgia law requires that children 8 years old or younger must use a car-or-booster seat in most cases.

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.

A state grant may help families in Dade County, Ga., get free car-and-booster seats for young children.

The grant will pay to provide the seats along with installation instructions and safety education to financially eligible families, according to a news release from the Georgia Department of Public Health.

"This program helps families get their children buckled up right, every trip, every time, and protect them from serious injuries or death in motor vehicle crashes," said Dr. Unini Odama, district health director for the public health department.

The department's Injury Prevention Program, the Dade County Health Department and community partners will work together to supply the seats, the release states.

Georgia law requires that children 8 years old or younger must use a car-or-booster seat in most cases. The booster-seat grant began in 2007 and has helped protect more than 3oo children in crashes, the release states.

Families can check on their eligibility for a seat and find out when safety classes are scheduled by calling the Dade County Health Departmen at 706-657-4213. Or contact Dade County Health Department, 71 Case Ave., Suite 100, Trenton.

Contact the Environmental Health office at 706-657-4213 or www.nwgapublichealth.org/counties/dade.


Loading...