Catoosa candidates qualify for July 31 primary

Catoosa candidates qualify for July 31 primary

May 31st, 2012 by Mike O'Neal in Catoosa

Friday was the deadline for candidates to file necessary paperwork and pay fees for inclusion on the July 31 primary election ballot.

No one qualified through the Democratic Party of Catoosa County.

The Republican Party ballot will have several uncontested races, including those where incumbent County Commission Chairman Keith Greene, incumbent Probate Judge Gene Lowery, incumbent coroner Vanita Hullander and incumbent Tax Commissioner Sandra Self all seek re-election.

In campaigns for election to the County Commission, incumbent Jeff Long will be challenged by Joyce Dean in District 1 and incumbent Jim Cutler will face challenger Steven Henry in District 3.

The resignation of Sheriff Phil Summers this winter prompted a crowded field with Larry C. Black, Mike Helton, Jeff Holcomb, Benjamin Scott and Gary Sisk all vying for that office.

Incumbent John Gass is being challenged by James Ellis and Brad Palmer to serve as chief magistrate.

In nonpartisan races for seats on the Catoosa County Board of Education, Brent Williams is challenging incumbent Melvin Edwards for the at-large seat, while District 1 incumbent Billy Joe McDaniel and District 3 incumbent Don Dycus are unopposed.

If runoffs are required, they will take place on Aug. 31.