Chattanooga Now CSOYO switcheroo

Chattanooga Now CSOYO switcheroo

Wilkes, the former student, conducts Craven, the former conductor

May 2nd, 2013 in Chattnow Music

Jay Craven, left, and Gary Wilkes

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.


CSOYO Prelude Orchestra

• Dvorak/Allen: "New World Symphony Theme"

• Strauss/Williams: "The Blue Danube Waltz"

• Newbold: "Russian Music Box"

CSOYO Etude Orchestra

• Meyer: "Dragon Hunter"

• Offenback/Dackow: "Orpheus in the Underworld: Finale"

• Newbold: "Dragon Dances"

• Frost: "Mango Tango"

CSOYO Philharmonic Orchestra

• Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 (IV. Allegro assai)

• Cook: "New Beginnings"

• Custer: "Themes From 007: A Medley for Orchestra"

CSOYO Symphony Orchestra

• Newman: "Blow It Up! Start Again"

• Mendelssohn: "Lord God of Abraham" from Elijah (Thomas West, soloist)

• Von Weber: "Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra" (Jay Craven, soloist)

• Daugherty: "Route 66"

• Marquez: "Danzon No. 2"

Jay Craven and Gary Wilkes first shared a stage in 1966 when Craven was conductor of the Chattanooga Symphony & Opera Youth Orchestras and Wilkes played a solo with the orchestra as a concerto competition winner.

Fast-forward 47 years, and Wilkes is the conductor and Craven will sit in as guest soloist for the CSOYO's season-ending concert on Monday, May 6. Craven will play "Concertino for Clarinet and Orchestra" by Karl Maria von Weber, the same selection he performed in 1953 with the Chattanooga Symphony Orchestra when he was the student concerto competition winner.

The concert, which marks Wilkes' 20th year with the CSOYO, will start at 7 p.m. at the Tivoli Theatre, 709 Broad St. The evening will feature all four ensembles as well as vocalist Thomas West, winner of the Performing Arts League Vocal Competition. Fans of "From the Top" may remember that West was featured in a live broadcast when the radio show visited Chattanooga last year.

The CSOYO Prelude and Etude orchestras, conducted by Nichole Pitts, will open the concert. Following them will be the CSOYO Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sandy Morris.

The program (with no intermission) will conclude with the CSOYO Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Wilkes.

Tickets are $7 for adults, $5 for children, students and seniors. Call 423-267-9011 for more information.