Chattanooga Now UT Band here Friday for pep rally - Oct. 25

Chattanooga Now UT Band here Friday for pep rally - Oct. 25

October 24th, 2013 by Staff Report in Chattnow Music

University of Tennessee drum major Cody Stricklin performs an exaggerated salute during a pep rally at Miller Park Friday.

Photo by Alyson Wright /Times Free Press.

OK, Tennessee fans: Wear your orange and get ready to sing "Rocky Top."

The Pride of the Southland Marching Band will stop in Chattanooga on Friday, Oct. 25, the day before the Vols' football game against the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. The free pep rally begins at noon at Miller Park, 900 Market St.

"If you can't make it to the football game, the Pride of the Southland Band can give you the feel of what it's like to be in Neyland Stadium," says Debbie Adams, past president of the UT Hamilton County Alumni Chapter. "The event is perfect for families -- or if you are on your lunch break. The alumni association hopes to gather a large crowd to show our support for the University of Tennessee."

The event is sponsored by the Chattanooga Region UT Knoxville Alumni Chapter and organizer Roger Woody.

The chapter has again partnered with Chick-fil-A to offer a $5 bag lunch (chicken sandwich, chips and water) on a first-come, first-served basis. Proceeds will benefit the Susan G. Komen Foundation. For details, call 423-883-3855.


UT's band includes members from several Southeast Tennessee alma maters:

* Bradley Central High School: Noah Tuten of Cleveland.

* Cleveland High School: Olivia Hysinger of Cleveland.

* East Hamilton High School: Graham Jones Chang Lee, Erin Lutz and Adam Williams, all of Chattanooga.

* Hixson High School:

Anna Rothberger of Hixson.

* Marion County High School: Devon Drey of Whitwell.

* McMinn Central High School: Alexandria Williams of Etowah.

* McMinn County High School: Grant Bostedor of Englewood, Dallas Moser of Decatur, Krista Weathersby of Riceville.

* Notre Dame High School: Clinton Cadem of Chattanooga, Michael Tortora of Hixson.

* Ooltewah High School: Zachary Brandt of Harrison, Joel Buccellato of Chattanooga, Wesley Carroll of McDonald, Anthony Sherriff of Ooltewah.

* Rhea County High School: Zachary Dye of Grandview, Vincent Runyan of Dayton.

* Signal Mountain Middle/High School: Anais Duenas of Signal Mountain.

* Soddy-Daisy High School: Krista Adamsky of Red Bank.

* Stone Memorial High School: Leah Bell of Crossville.

Source: UT Bands