Incline Awards honor nine area organizations for excellence in public relations projects

Incline Awards honor nine area organizations for excellence in public relations projects

May 9th, 2009 in Entertainment

Nine local companies and nonprofits were recognized for excellence in public relations, communications and marketing efforts during the Public Relations Society of America, Lookout Chapter, Incline Awards ceremony.

On Point, formerly known as Why Know, received the highest award, the Lookout Award, for its 2008 Chair Affair event.

Kathryn DeNovo, Merrile Stroud and Lesley Scearce of On Point were recognized for their work on Chair Affair.

Other winning organizations were BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee, four awards; Chattanooga Area Combined Federal Campaign; city of Chattanooga; Derryberry Public Relations; Siskin Children's Institute, two awards; TVA, six awards; Unum, two awards; and Waterhouse Public Relations, four awards.

Cofer wins Holt


Michael Reece Cofer, a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and firstyear dental student at the UT Health Science Center College of Dentistry in Memphis, has received the most prestigious scholarship awarded by the University of Tennessee Alumni Association. The Andy Holt Scholarship is valued at $40,000 and distributed at $10,000 per year over four years.

The Holt Scholars Program memorializes UT's former president Dr. Andy Holt. Each year one first-year dental student is chosen by a scholarship selection committee. The award is based on academic merit and leadership.

"Reece achieved the highest score on the Dental Admissions Test and was extremely active in UTC campus activities and many community endeavors," said Dr. Phillip O. Dowdle.

Lee earns service


Lee University was listed on the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll with distinction by the Corporation for National and Community Service for the third consecutive year.

Since 2006, the honor roll has selected universities that have outstanding community service and service-learning programs. Lee was one of 83 colleges listed on the honor roll with distinction; 547 institutions were listed on the basic honor roll.

Three other Tennessee schools were on the honor roll with distinction: East Tennessee State University, Lipscomb University and Rhodes College.

Holt joins

Parkridge staff

Julie Holt, LCSW, has joined the staff of Parkridge Valley's Daystar Counseling Center, treating children and adolescents.

Before joining Daystar, Ms. Holt was in private practice. She has more than 20 years of experience in behavioral health.

Daystar is staffed by five licensed therapists and one psychiatrist and serves Meigs, Monroe, Polk, McMinn and Bradley counties.

For more information on the Daystar program or an appointment with Ms. Holt, call 423-744-8734.

McCallie team

wins debate title

The McCallie School debate team of John Arnold and Austen Smith claimed a state title at the Tennessee High School Speech and Drama League State Tournament in Nashville. The sophomores were undefeated in eight matches.

Of McCallie's five Public Forum teams, four advanced to the quarterfinals and two were semifinalists. The debate topic concerned the pros and cons of the Employee Free Choice Act.

Stallings wins

oratory contest

Berry College senior Hope Stallings ended her college forensics career by winning the Interstate Oratory Contest. The event dates to 1874 and counts William Jennings Bryan among its famed participants.

Two speakers from each state are allowed to present original orations in the contest. Georgia was represented by Berry students Stallings and Amanda Dean. Stallings advanced through four rounds of competition before making it to the championship round. According to Dr. Randy Richardson, she received three first-place votes out of five judges.

Miss Stallings also was honored by the Oxford-Lafayette County Heritage Foundation as the first recipient of the L.Q.C. Lamar Award of Distinction.

She is the daughter of Stan and Angela Nix of Ringgold, Ga.

UT medical school announces winners

The University of Tennessee College of Medicine-Chattanooga, based at Erlanger, honored winners of the 27th Research Week awards at the end of a weeklong display of research posters and case reports in Erlanger Medical Mall.

Winners of the Robert C. Coddington Award for the Best Research Presentation were Dr. Sandy Varghese and Dr. Christy Lusk, senior pediatric residents, for "Demographic, Metabolic and Genomic Description of Neonates with Severe Hyperbilirubinemia."

Dr. B. Shane Asbury, orthopaedic surgery resident, received first place for his poster, "Comparison of Square vs. Half Hitch Knots in a Running Suture Model."

First place for their casereport poster went to Dr. Philip Ramsay, fifth-year surgery resident, and Dr. Melissa Rader, third-year surgery resident, for "Internal Carotid Artery Thrombosis after Blunt Trauma - Salvage Therapy with the Penumbra Thrombectomy System."

Lee professors'

papers published

Dr. Tim Miller, Lee University assistant professor of philosophy, published an extended version of his paper "Desgabets on Cartesian Minds" in the British Journal for the History of Philosophy.

"Desgabets on Cartesian Minds" presented concerns on ways that aspects of Descartes' philosophy were modified and developed by subsequent Cartesian philosophers.

Dr. Timothy Miller joined Lee's Department of Theology as assistant professor of philosophy last fall.

Dr. Rolando Cuellar's article "The Short-Term Missions are Bigger than You Think: Implications for the Global Church" has been included in "Effective Engagement in Short-Term Missions: Doing it Right" (William Carey Publishing.) Dr. Cuellar is assistant professor of Intercultural Studies.

The article addresses primary areas to which little attention has been received by short-term missions.

Cuellar joined the faculty in the fall of 2003.

Ketchersid named

to 'Who'sWho'

Dr. William Ketchersid, professor of history at Bryan College, has been selected for Montclair Publishing's "Who's Who Among Executive and Professionals."

At Bryan, Dr. Ketchersid specializes in the constitutional history of the United States. In the community, he is active in his church and the Lions Club.

UTC math contest

winners named

High school students from Boyd-Buchanan and Hixson won f irst-place awards in the UTC mathematics poster competition. "Mathematics in the Sciences and Business" was the theme. Eighteen students from six schools submitted posters. The winners in Grades 9-10 were: first, Josh Leverette, Boyd-Buchanan, "Gravitational Acceleration"; second, Caitlyn Clifford, Notre Dame, "Bridging the Math Gap"; third, Catie Casey, Notre Dame, "The Vitruvian Man."

Grade 11-12 winners were: first, Kyle Marcum and Aaron Fisher, Hixson High, "Bombs Away!" second, Justin Barr, Hixson High, "Maximizing Music"; third, James Nasca and Stephanie Raulston, Central High, "Luigi's Pizza."

Each first-place team received $200, second-place teams received $100 and third place won $50. The mathematics department at the school of each first-place winner also received $50.

Piano technician

earns designation

Local piano technician Sheffey Gregory, of Gregory's Piano Service, recently completed requirements to earn the Registered Piano Technician designation in the Piano Technicians Guild.

Less than 2,500 people in the world have completed the series of examinations to earn the credential. The exam process includes a written test, covering general knowledge of pianos and piano technology; a technical exam, which includes action regulation and repairs; and a standardized tuning examination.

A piano technician for 14 years, Mr. Gregory is an active member of the Atlanta chapter of the Piano Technicians Guild.