Cadek Community Orchestra performs

Cadek Community Orchestra performs

November 22nd, 2012 in Life Entertainment


* What: Cadek Community Orchestra in concert.

* When: 3-4:30 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 25.

* Where: UTC Fine Arts Center, 752 Vine St.

* Admission: Free.

* Phone: 425-4601.

* Website:

A concert by the Cadek Community Orchestra on Sunday, Nov. 25, will be conducted by graduate student Min-jeong Won, under the direction of Jooyong Ahn. It will feature works by Haydn, Elgar and Bizet.

Symphony No. 104 in D Major is Joseph Haydn's final symphony and the last of the 12 symphonies composed for the two London concert series. Although it became known as the "London," Haydn referred to it as "the 12th." It was first performed in the early summer of 1795 and is in four movements: allegro, andante, minuet and trio, and finale.

Guest soloist Hannah Kuhn will perform with the orchestra in Edward Elgar's Cello Concerto. This piece was composed during the summer of 1919 and represents the angst, despair and disillusionment that Elgar felt after the end of the World War I, as well as an introspective look at death and mortality.

Also included in the concert is "L'Arlesienne Suite No. 1." The incidental music to Alphonse Daudet's play "L'Arlésienne (usually translated as "The Girl From Arles") was composed by Georges Bizet for the first performance of the play at the Vaudeville Theatre in 1872. It consists of 27 numbers (some only a few bars) for voice, chorus and small orchestra, ranging from short solos to longer entr'actes. Bizet himself played the harmonium backstage at the premiere performance. The play received poor reviews and closed after only 21 performances. However, the incidental music flourished in the form of two suites for orchestra.