'Basically Baroque' opens CSO Chamber Series

'Basically Baroque' opens CSO Chamber Series

October 25th, 2012 by Staff Report in Life Entertainment

Kayoko Dan, Chattanooga Symphony Orchestra conductor.

Photo by Angela Lewis/Times Free Press.


* Albinoni: Concerto Op. 5, No. 7

* Bach: Air on G

* Telemann: Viola Concerto

* Telemann: Canonic Sonata for Two Flutes

* C.P.E. Bach: Symphony in G

The Chattanooga Symphony & Opera opens its Chamber Series on Sunday with "Basically Baroque," featuring works by Baroque master composers Bach and Telemann as well as pieces by C.P.E. Bach and Albinoni.

CSO principal viola Robert Elder is a featured soloist in the concert. CSO music director Kayoko Dan will also pull out her flute and join CSO principal flute Janet Hale for Telemann's Canonic Sonata for Two Flutes.

The program starts at 3 p.m. in the Silver Ballroom of the Sheraton Read House, 827 Broad St. Tickets are $20.

For more information, call the CSO box office at 267-8583 or visit www.ChattanoogaSymphony.org.