Good for you: Bliss Welch wins Ms. Wheelchair

Good for you: Bliss Welch wins Ms. Wheelchair

March 29th, 2013 by Susan Pierce in Life Entertainment

Bliss Welch wins Ms. Wheelchair

Bliss Welch

Bliss Welch

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.

Bliss Welch of Harrison was crowned Ms. Wheelchair Tennessee 2013 following a day-long program at the DoubleTree Hotel.

She will compete in the national competition in Houston on July 15-21.

Welch is pursuing a master's degree in accounting at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. She is a volunteer for the Muscular Dystrophy Association, an Internal Revenue Service volunteer income tax assistant and has been a guest speaker at the International Dysferlin Conferences.

The new titleholder has Limb-Girdle Muscular Dystrophy 2B and says her goal as Ms. Wheelchair Tennessee is to shift the focus from what people with disabilities can't do to what they can.

Ashley Grimes of Cleveland, Tenn., was first runner-up, Christina Earheart of Springfield, Tenn., placed second and Jessica Goodman of Knoxville was third.

Hanna Latimer of Camden, Tenn., was crowned Little Miss Wheelchair Tennessee 2013.

Music Club names scholarship winners

Nine high school students performed March 24, auditioning for scholarships awarded by the Chattanooga Music Club. The winners will be featured in a recital during the music club's spring tea on Sunday, April 21.

Pianist Wesley Carroll of Ooltewah High School won the top award, the $4,000 Drs. Hilda and Andres Alisago Jr. & Friends Scholarship .

Other winners of scholarships and amounts they received were:

• Chattanooga Music Club Scholarships: John Burton, trumpet, Walker Valley High School, $1,500; Jonathan Lau, piano, McCallie School, $1,000; and Abigail Hinchman, piano, homeschool, $750.

• Dorothy Price Cobb Martin Memorial Scholarships: Hannah Porter, flute, homeschool; and Hollis Neel, trombone, Heritage High School, each $1,000.

• Fletcher Bright Strings Scholarship: Hannah Kuhn, cello, Center for Creative Arts, $1,000.

• Opal Rhea Swaity Memorial Scholarship: Aaron C. Smith, vocalist, Homelife Academy, $1,000.

• Adm. Vance and Charlynne Fry Merit Scholarship: Aaron Hairston, piano, homeschool, $500.

Berry math professor honored

Berry College associate professor of mathematics Ron Taylor was recently presented the 2013 Southeastern Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The award was presented during the Mathematical Association of America conference at Winthrop University.

Glynn Key elected foundation trustee

Former Chattanoogan Glynn D. Key of Washington, D.C., is one of two new members elected to the board of trustees of the Thomas Jefferson Foundation.

Glynn D. Key

Glynn D. Key

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.

The private, nonprofit organization has owned and operated Jefferson's home, Monticello in Virginia, since 1923.

Gilbert P. Schafer III of New York City is the other new trustee.

Key is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles F. Key Sr. and the granddaughter of George A. Key Sr.

She is a 1982 graduate of Girls Preparatory School and a 1986 graduate of the University of Virginia, where she was an Echols Scholar, Jefferson Scholar and chairwoman of the Honor Committee. She received a law degree from the UVA in 1989.

She was appointed to the UVA Board of Visitors in 2004 and served until 2012. She currently serves on the university's Miller Center Governing Council.

Key is employed as general counsel of GE Water and Process Technologies.

TWC named to service honor roll

Tennessee Wesleyan College has been named to the 2013 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll.

The award recognizes institutions of higher education that are improving their communities and creating a new generation of leaders by challenging students to solve local challenges.

Since its founding in 2010, TWC's Center for Servant Leadership has sponsored an annual Day of Service in Athens during which faculty and students volunteer to fulfill regional nonprofits' needs.

For more information about the college's community service efforts, visit