Good for you: Malone wins first City Paint Out

Good for you: Malone wins first City Paint Out

May 10th, 2013 by Susan Pierce in Life Entertainment

Winners of the first Scenic City Paint Out, which was held during the recent Spark arts celebration, are, from left, Rena Malone, best in show; June Teuscher, third; Janet Felts and Sandra Babb, honorable mentions. Marie Miller, second place, is not pictured.

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.

Malone wins first City Paint Out

Rena Malone won Best in Show in the first Scenic City Paint Out for her 8- by 10-inch oil, "Gorge Ess." The landscape depicts the Tennessee River winding through the Tennessee River Gorge.

Scenic City Paint Out was an open-air event for artists of all ages held during the Spark arts celebration. It was hosted by Shuptrine's Gold Leaf Design, partnering with Chattanooga Arboretum and Nature Center at Reflection Riding, Rock City Gardens and Hunter Museum of American Art. Ellen Simak, Hunter curator, judged the entries.

Placing second was Marie Miller, and June Teuscher took third. Honorable mentions were given Sandra Babb of Ringgold, Ga., and Janet Felts from Erin, Tenn.

Pearson fellow in Julliard program

Sarah Pearson, a flute player and graduate student at Lee University, has been accepted as a conducting fellow in the 2013 Conducting Workshop for Music Educators at Juilliard School in July.

She is one of 10 fellows selected from an international group of applicants.

The four-day workshop involves podium sessions and seminars with Julliard faculty and guest orchestra directors.

Pearson is the middle school director of winds and percussion at Girls Preparatory School and co-director of the McCallie/GPS Wind Ensemble. She is also assistant minister of music at Church of the Highlands.

She is principal flutist for Tabernacle Symphony of Praise in Hixson and teaches private music lessons at First Baptist School of Fine Arts in Chattanooga.

Conley finalist for literary prize

Berry alumna Brenna Conley is one of seven short-list finalists for the Paris Literary Prize for her novella, "Protection." The Paris Literary Prize is an international fiction competition for unpublished writers. The winner receives 10,000 euros ($13,093) and an all-expenses paid trip to Paris to read from the winning piece. The prize ceremony will take place on June 16. Conley, who graduated with a degree in English from Berry College in 2012, wrote "Protection" as her honors thesis. It is a retelling of the Greek mythology about Persephone.

Franks inducted into hall of fame

Entertainer and actor Randall Franks of Ringgold, Ga., was recently inducted into the Independent Country Music Hall of Fame.

Franks was inducted with Leona Williams, Razzy Bailey, Jean Shepherd, Jimmy C. Newman, the late Billie Jo Spears, Glenn Douglas Tubb, Jerry and Helen Burke, Leslie Elliott, Jim Lusk, Phyllis Cole and the late Johnny Carson.

Franks is best known as Officer Randy Goode on TV's "In the Heat of the Night," a role he performed from 1988 to 1993. He has co-starred in 14 films, most recently "Lukewarm" with John Schneider.

His musical career includes 19 albums, 17 singles and 200 recordings with various artists from multiple genres.

He is president of the Share America Foundation Inc., which provides scholarships to musicians continuing the traditional music of Appalachia. He hosts a monthly concert series at the Ringgold Depot to help fund the scholarships.

Baylor student wins honors

Darby Schumacher, a junior at Baylor School, placed second in the environmental science category at the 51st National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium held last weekend in Dayton, Ohio.

According to a news release, she received a medal from the Department of Defense, a certificate signed by the Secretary of the Army, Navy and Air Force and an $8,000 scholarship to the college of her choice.

Her winning research paper, "A Filter Today Keeps Pollutants Away: A Study of Nanofiber Based Stormwater Filtration," will be published in the Handbook and Proceedings of the Tennessee Junior Academy of Science. She will also be inducted into the American Junior Academy of Science, a national honor society recognizing American high school students for outstanding scientific research.

Schumacher advanced to the national competition after winning the Tennessee Junior Academy of Sciences competition in April at Belmont University in Nashville.

Additionally, the International Sustainable World Energy, Engineering, Environment Project Olympiad has selected Schumacher as a world finalist, earning her a trip to Houston, this week to compete with students from more than 60 countries.

She will represent Tennessee as a delegate at the American Junior Academy of Sciences Convention in Chicago in February.

Seniors named to Who's Who

Several area senior adults have been named to "Who's Who in Tennessee Long-Term Care" by the Tennessee Health Care Association. The award recognizes individuals living in THCA member facilities who have made noteworthy contributions through their lives.

Honorees include Lynne Bowling and Kenneth Honea, residents of Life Care Center of East Ridge; Maxine Deakins of Soddy-Daisy Health Care Center; Robert Defur of Brookewood Nursing Center; Jayne McGarey of Life Care Center of Hixson; and James Thurmer of Etowah Health Care Center.