Good for you: Hamilton County teachers receive Unum grants

Good for you: Hamilton County teachers receive Unum grants

January 24th, 2014 by Susan Pierce in Life Entertainment

Hamilton County teachers receive Unum grants

Unum presented Hamilton County school teachers with more than $50,000 in mini-grants at its annual Strong Schools Grant teacher luncheon held Jan. 8. The awards will help fund 52 innovative classroom projects.

"Selected out of 112 applicants, these teachers are receiving grants for classroom projects that promise to provide exceptional learning opportunities for their students," says Tom White, senior vice president of investor relations for Unum.

Unum Strong Schools Grant recipients are Nikki Howell, Allen Elementary; Lisa Young, Alpine Crest Elementary; Susan Dorsa, Barger Academy; Megan Neves, Heather Prairie and Sonal Patel, Big Ridge Elementary; Mary A. Rausch, Brainerd High; Ashley Lawrence, Brown Academy; Kristina Culberson, Brown Middle; and Sandra Howard, Center for Creative Arts.

Also receiving grants are Brielle Farrow and Donna Sellers, Central High; Caleb Bagby, Chattanooga Girls Leadership Academy; Soeung Chov and Mary Vlasis, Chattanooga School for the Arts and Sciences; Diane Stacy, Daisy Elementary; Raquel Clark, Dalewood Middle; and Amanda Turner and Nicole Galletta, East Brainerd Elementary.

Teresa Molnar, East Hamilton Middle/High; Callie Branam, East Lake Academy of Fine Arts; Jill Blackmon and Sara Durst, East Lake Elementary; Marilyn Medley, East Ridge Elementary; Ali Dullen and Catherine Patronis, East Side Elementary; Sharon Leath, Falling Water Elementary; and Julia Warren and Aaron Wood, Hixson Elementary.

Also, Rachel Carr, Hixson High; Scott Rosenow, Loftis Middle; Richard Johnson, Lookout Valley Middle/High; Carrie Willmore, Normal Park Museum Magnet; Grey Briggs, Ooltewah High; Regennia Martin, Ooltewah Middle; Mary Hendricks, Orchard Knob Elementary; Kristin Roberts, Orchard Knob Middle; Jinlin Baker and Jennifer Brownlee, Red Bank Elementary; Leah Keith, Red Bank High; and Dan Basler, Rivermont Elementary.

Delores Hill, Quailla Hatcher and Kimberly Jackson, Bess T. Shepherd Elementary; LeAnn Maretti and Sharon Dodds, Wallace A. Smith Elementary; Susan Acuff, Soddy-Daisy High; Tyler Roberson, Soddy-Daisy Middle; Julie Bell, Thrasher Elementary; John K. Cooper and Jerry Webb, Tyner Academy; and Emmie Stuart and Ashley Frogg, Woodmore Elementary.

Yonge fills CSCC's VISTA position

Kourtney Yonge has filled the AmeriCorps VISTA position at Cleveland State Community College. VISTA is a national program to fight poverty. Yonge has been instrumental in launching the service-learning component of the college's First Year Seminar, according to a Cleveland State news release, keeping track of more than 200 students' service hours. The First Year Seminar is a course that helps guide students through their first year in college.

Yong's VISTA responsibilities also include working with partnering agencies on initiatives and serving on the Mayor's Coalition Housing Council to help facilitate planning and completion of a 2014 Housing Census.

Kids on the Block starts Junior Board

Chattanooga's Kids on the Block has established its first Junior Board for youth ages 10 to 13. CKOB uses puppets to address social and safety issues with schoolchildren.

Members of the CKOB Junior Board are Dru Schenk, Melanie Kral, Justus Ellington, Lydia Bolen, Kazmin Williams and Kaylak Williams.

They will support CKOB through age-appropriate activities such as providing feedback on audience reaction to performances, suggesting new program ideas based on issues facing their peers, promoting CKOB through social media, and developing and supporting CKOB fundraisers.

For more information, call 423-757-5259 or check the website at