Area United Methodist pastors appointed

Area United Methodist pastors appointed

June 18th, 2009 by Clint Cooper in Local - Breaking News

United Methodist pastors for southeast Tennessee were appointed for the next year at the denomination's Holston Annual Conference at Lake Junaluska, N.C., earlier this week.

The new appointments involving pastors in the Chattanooga and Cleveland districts are:

Chattanooga District:

Willard "Bill" Akers (Wauhatchie)

Dennis Flaugher (Brainerd)

Annette Flynn (Signal Crest, associate)

Leon Fraley (Burks, associate)

Terry Huffer (Forrest Avenue, associate)

Curtis McKee (Wesley Memorial)

Elston McLain (Stanley)

Jeremy McMillian (First, Whitwell)

Ronald Ramsey (McKendree)

Ken Sauer (East Ridge)

Doug Silvers (Welch's Chapel-Stephens Chapel)

Edward Snodgrass (Highland Plaza)

Clair Travis (Grace)

Lewis Trobaugh (Brooks Memorial)

Michael Watson (Rising Fawn)

Brian Williamson (Mount Crest)

Pastors presently in the Chattanooga District but moving to appointments outside the district are Steve Galyon (Wauhatchie to Vermont in the Kingsport District), Sam Johnson (East Ridge to First UMC in Church Hill, Tenn., in the Kingsport District), Doug Armstrong (Rising Fawn to Logan's Chapel in the Maryville District), Lewis Kizer (former associate, Signal Crest, to Harden's Chapel-Mosheim in the Morristown District and Joe Phillips (Brooks Memorial to Benton in the Cleveland District).

It earlier was announced that the Rev. Fred Dearing would be appointed superintendent of the denomination's Chattanooga District and the Rev. Meg Taylor, pastor at McKendree in Jasper, would be appointed superintendent of the Wytheville, Va., district.

Dr. Dearing succeeds the retiring Dr. Albert J. Bowles, a former senior pastor at the Hixson and First-Centenary churches who has been district superintendent since 2001.

Others retiring from appointments in the Chattanooga District are Jim Douthat (First UMC, Whitwell), Bill Cross (Welch's Chapel-Stephens Chapel) and Benny Matherly (Wesley Memorial).

Cleveland District:

* R. Steven Brown (Trinity, Athens)

* Dennie Humphreys (Keith Memorial, Athens)

* Joe Phillips (Benton)

* P. Aaron Pierce (Wesley Memorial, Etowah, and Pleasant Grove)

* James H. Purser (Mountain View)

* Ramon D. Torres III (Ooltewah)

* Robert O. Wallace (Black Fox)

* D. Scott Wilks (Jones Chapel-Wesleyanna)

It earlier was announced that the Rev. David Graves, senior pastor at Ooltewah, would be appointed superintendent of the Kingsport District.