Chattanooga City Council Election

Chattanooga City Council Election

March 4th, 2009 in Local Regional News

City Council incumbents Manny Rico and Carol Berz and three unopposed council incumbents won re-election Tuesday. Pam Ladd won the District 3 seat outright.

District 3

For the open seat in District 3, Pam Ladd, 52, will be starting her first term on the council, defeating opponent George Patten by a thin margin.

"I'm very proud of the race we ran and very proud of the race George Patten ran," she said. "I hope to keep him involved as we move forward."

Councilman Dan Page did not run for re-election for the seat.

District 3 includes Hixson, Murray Hills and Northwoods.

District 6

District 6 City Councilwoman Carol Berz won decisively Tuesday night in her bid for her first four-year term over challenger Marti Rutherford, who had held the seat twice previously.

"I'm grateful to all the voters who got out and voted and all the team that supported me and all the people that had faith to keep a straight-up race and win," Dr. Berz said from her election night party at Eastgate Town Center.

Dr. Berz won the seat in a special election in February 2006, months after Ms. Rutherford resigned her post because of controversy about whether she lived in District 6.

Ms. Rutherford said Tuesday night she did not know what her political future held, but she said she would keep working for the district and the city.

"This is Carol's night," Ms. Rutherford said.

District 7

Manny Rico, 63, was re-elected Tuesday with the majority necessary to avoid a runoff.

Mr. Rico will start his second term on the City Council when he is sworn in on April 20. He won over opponents Mahmood Abdullah and Clifford Eberhardt.

"I really didn't think it was going to be this hard," he joked Tuesday.

He represents District 7, which includes St. Elmo, Alton Park and East Lake.


Running unopposed, Sally Robinson was re-elected to District 2, Jack Benson to District 4 and Russell Gilbert Sr. to District 5.

Vote totals for one precinct in each race were not available Tuesday night. That precinct is reserved for provisional ballots, election officials said.

Staff writers Matt Wilson, Cliff Hightower and Adam Crisp compiled this report.