Collegedale: Lamb leads voting

Collegedale: Lamb leads voting

March 4th, 2009 by Elizabeth Ryan in Local Regional News

Collegedale's first mayor, Fred Fuller, lost his bid for re-election Tuesday, in a six-way race for three spots on the city commission.

Newcomer Katie Lamb led the polls with 453 votes, followed by Deborah Baker with 368 votes and incumbent Vice Mayor Tim Johnson with 365 votes.


With 91 percent of the precincts reporting:

Deborah Baker: 368

Fred Fuller: 316

Harry Hodgdon: 123

Tim Johnson: 365

Katie Lamb: 453

Ray Minner: 361

Vote totals for one precinct in each race were not available Tuesday night. That precinct is reserved for provisional ballots, election officials said.

The 80-year-old Mr. Fuller, who helped incorporate the city in 1968 and has served on the commission for 16 years, said he was ready to retire for good.

"I felt like if the Lord wanted me in there, it would work, if not, I didn't want to be there," he said.

Ms. Lamb said she was thrilled by the result but exhausted after a long day of campaigning at the polls. She returned home around 8 p.m. after picking up all but two of the 54 signs she had put out around town, she said.

"I guess I'm a little stunned, flabbergasted. I didn't expect to (be elected) the first time around, but I'm pleased," she said.

A close race between Ms. Baker, Mr. Johnson and Ray Minner for the second and third seats came down to only a handful of votes.

"It was very close, you had me holding my breath," said Mr. Johnson, who beat Mr. Minner by four votes. "I was a little nervous on this one."

Mr. Johnson said he was looking forward to advocating for a public electric shuttle to better connect all parts of the community.

Ms. Baker said she was "honored" to have the chance to serve the public and said she looked forward to bringing change as one of two women on the commission.

"I think Katie and I will give them their money's worth," she said.

Commissioners serve four-year staggered terms. Mayor John Turner's and Commissioner Larry Hanson's seats will be up for election in March 2011.