New directors to be sworn in at TVA Thursday

New directors to be sworn in at TVA Thursday

October 5th, 2010 by Nikole Dugger , Adam Crisp , Yolanda Putman , Jason Reynolds , Lisa Denton , Ward Gossett , David Paschall , Kelley Smiddie , David Uchiyama , Mark Wiedmer , Lindsey Young , Mark Kennedy , Randall Higgins , Michael Davis , Andy Sher , Associated Press , Linda Weaver , Darren Epps , John Riddell Jr. , Lisa Earle McLeod , Ben Doak , Todd South , Will Woodbery , Andy Johns , Katie Ward , Brandi Dixon , Deborah Levine , Sonja Millard , Linda Todd , Jim Drexler , Susan Kendall , Tom Davis , Howard Hatcher , Karen Goodlet , Dan Cook , Tracy Grider , David Jones , Daniel Jones , Heath Grider , Donnie Jenkins , Darrell Layne , Andrew D. Holt , Kevin Hardy , Judy Walton , Winston D. Pickett , Dan Whisenhunt , Donald Kane , J. Todd Foster , Dan Henry in Local Regional News

Four new TVA directors will officially join the federal utility on Thursday, a year after President Obama nominated the new members for the utility's 9-member board.

At 9 a.m. on Thursday at TVA's corporate headquarters in Knoxville, U.S. District Court Judge Sandy Mattice will swear into office Dr. Marilyn Brown, a Georgia Tech professor; Dr. Barbara Haskew, a Middle Tennessee State University professor; Oak Ridge attorney Neil McBride, and former TVA Chairman Bill Sansom.

U.S. Sen. Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn., the co-chair of the TVA Congressional Caucus, will attend the ceremony along with TVA Chairman Dennis Bottorff and TVA President Tom Kilgore

TVA has operated for most of the past year with only five board members, the bare majority required for a quorum.

President Obama also may nominate a replacement for the outgoing TVA Director Howard Thrailkill, but the White House has yet to announce any appointment for the post.

The new board will meet for the first time in Chattanooga on Nov. 4