Georgia releases redistricting map

Georgia releases redistricting map

August 12th, 2011 by Andy Johns in Local - Breaking News

Document: Proposed Georgia House districts

Proposed Georgia House districts.

Document: Proposed Georgia Senate districts

Proposed Georgia Senate districts.

A few of the district boundaries were shifted around, but most Northwest Georgians will remain in the same state house and senate districts if a proposed legislative map is approved.

Districts 1 and 2, currently occupied by Rep. Jay Neal, R-LaFayette, and Martin Scott, R-Rossville would be flipped and reshaped as much as any in the region if the map were adopted. To the south, Democrat Barbara Massey Reece - who many said could be targeted by Republicans to lose her district - would keep all of her Chattooga district and pick up territory in Southern Floyd County.

Under the proposed map Rep. Rick Jasperse, R-Jasper, would add territory in Murray County that had formerly been zoned to Rep. John Meadows' District 5.

On the Senate side, Sen. Jeff Mullis's district would be extended to encompass all of Catoosa County but the Chickamauga Republican's territory would be scaled back to only Northern Chattooga County. Sen. Barry Loudermilk, R-Cassville, would gain Mullis's constituents in Chattooga County as well as a few from Sen. Charlie Bethel, R-Dalton.

Bethel would lose a few precincts in Gordon County, but pick up space in Pickens County.