Four counties eligible for disaster unemployment insurance

Four counties eligible for disaster unemployment insurance

May 3rd, 2011 by Staff Report in Local - Breaking News

Karla Davis, Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development, said this morning that Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits are available to workers in Bradley, Greene, Hamilton, and Washington counties.

The benefits are only available to those who are out of work as a direct result of severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and associated flooding between the dates of April 25 to April 28 of this year, Davis said.

"Since 1974, the federal government has been authorized to provide financial assistance to individuals who are unemployed as a direct result of a declared major disaster and who are not eligible for regular unemployment insurance benefits," said Commissioner Davis. "This agency stands ready to promptly administer this special program to our fellow Tennesseans in need."

Tennessee unemployment claim or DUA claim may call 615-253-0800, extension 7599, or 1-866-331-1271, extension 7599, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays

Davis said persons unemployed as a result of these storms must file their claim for DUA benefits within 30 days of this announcement. The declaration number is FEMA-1974-DR.

Individuals who are not covered for regular unemployment benefits, including self-employed workers, may qualify for disaster unemployment benefits, Davis said.

Davis said individuals should have access to their 2010 income tax return, social security number, and any papers with wage and employment information prior to the disaster.

Those who need to file a report in person should go to one of the following Tennessee Career Centers.

The following 22 Tennessee Career Center locations take mass lack-of-work claims on Mondays and Thursdays at 8:30 a.m.

Athens 410 Congress Parkway

Bristol 1712 West State Street

Chattanooga 5600 Brainerd Road, Suite A-5

Clarksville Veterans Plaza, 350 Pageant Lane, Suite 406

Columbia 119 Nashville Highway, Suite 106, Northway Shopping Ctr.

Cookeville 580 South Jefferson Ave., Suite A

Crossville 60 Ridley Street

Dyersburg 439 McGaughey Street

Gallatin 175 College Street

Humboldt 1481 Mullins Street

Jacksboro 1016 Main Street

Jackson 362 Carriage House Drive

Johnson City 2515 Wesley Street

Knoxville 1610 University Avenue

Lawrenceburg 702 Mahr Avenue

McMinnville 107 Lyon Street

Murfreesboro 1313 Old Fort Parkway

Nashville 2200 Rosa L. Parks Blvd. (previously Metro Center Blvd.)

Paris 1023 Mineral Wells Avenue, Suite F

Rogersville 1112 East Main Street

Talbott/Morristown 6057 W. Andrew Johnson Highway, Alpha Square, Suite A

Tullahoma 111 East Lincoln Street

If persons affected by the disaster have relocated to Shelby, Fayette, or Tipton counties, they should apply for unemployment benefits in the following Tennessee Career Centers that process walk-in unemployment claims from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday:

Memphis - Mendenhall 5368 South Mendenhall Mall

Memphis - Raleigh 2850 Austin Peay Hwy., Suite 132

Memphis - Poplar 1295 Poplar Avenue

Collierville 942 West Poplar, Suite 4

Somerville 121 West Court Square

Ripley 301C Lake Drive

Covington 973 Highway 51 North Bypass