Bledsoe, McMinn, Rhea join disaster list

Bledsoe, McMinn, Rhea join disaster list

May 5th, 2011 by Staff Report in Local - Breaking News

A modular home along state Highway 30 in Rhea County was destroyed as what authorities believe were two tornados passed through the New Harmony community on the Bledsoe/Rhea county line. Staff Photo by Ben Benton/Chattanooga Times Free Press

Six more counties, including Bledsoe, McMinn, Monroe and Rhea, have been added to the federal disaster declaration resulting from last week's tornadoes, according to Gov. Bill Haslam's office.

Bledsoe, Cocke, Johnson, McMinn, Monroe and Rhea counties have been approved in the individual assistance category, the release stated. Residents who sustained losses in these counties can begin applying for assistance immediately through the Federal Emergency Management Agency by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Tennessee suffered 37 deaths from tornadoes and floods, and more than 500 homes were destroyed or heavily damaged, the release stated.

"As we work through the recovery process, I appreciate the federal government continuing to help Tennesseans impacted by these storms receive the assistance they need," Haslam said.

Bradley, Greene, Hamilton and Washington counties received approval May 2. Other counties may be added.