8 more Georgia counties get disaster assistance

8 more Georgia counties get disaster assistance

May 8th, 2011 by Staff Report in Local Regional News

ATLANTA - Eight Georgia counties have been added to the list of those eligible for federal assistance to recover from damage suffered in the April 27 storms, according to a news release.

The newest counties are Cherokee, Gordon, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lumpkin, Newton and White. They join Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Greene, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, Walker and White counties.

The designation means the Federal Emergency Management Agency will pay 75 percent of the cost for some cleanup and recovery activities, including debris removal, repairs to roads, bridges, public buildings and utilities, and emergency protective measures.

Qualified private nonprofit organizations may receive assistance to restore certain kinds of facilities. These include utilities; educational, emergency, medical, and custodial care facilities; and other structures used to provide essential governmental services.