Blevins, Gouger, Ribeiro win Mr. Football Awards

Blevins, Gouger, Ribeiro win Mr. Football Awards

November 28th, 2011 by Stephen Hargis in Local Regional News

MURFREESBORO - South Pittsburg High School senior linebacker Coltin Blevins was named the Class 1A lineman of the year Monday. Baylor senior Barrett Gouger was the Division II lineman Mr. Football winner, and Baylor kicker Henrique Ribeiro was the state's Mr. Football kicker winner

Blevins was the MVP of the Blue Cross Bowl last year and has helped the Pirates to the 1A state title game this Friday.

His teammate Jajuan Lankford was a finalist for Class 1A back of the year.

Gouger and Ribeiro and the rest of the Red Raiders will face Ensworth in the Division II-AA state championship Thursday.

For more read Tuesday's Times Free Press sports section.