Clay, Masengil named TSSAA Miss Basketball finalists

Clay, Masengil named TSSAA Miss Basketball finalists

February 22nd, 2012 by Stephen Hargis in Local - Breaking News

In this file photo, Chadarryl Clay of GPS poses in the Times Free Press Studio.

Photo by Jake Daniels/Times Free Press.

Elizabeth Masengil of McMinn Central High School

Photo by Jake Daniels/Times Free Press.

GPS senior point guard Chadarryl Clay and McMinn Central junior post Elizabeth Masengil have each been named finalists for the TSSAA Miss Basketball award. Clay, who won the award last year in Division II-AA while helping the Bruisers claim the state championship, is an Auburn signee, and Masengil was last season's Class AA state tournament MVP while leading the Lady Chargers to that state title.

There are three finalists for Mr. and Miss Basketball in each of the state's five classifications and the winners will be announced following the boys' and girls' state championship games.

TSSAA Mr. and Miss Basketball finalists

Class A Miss Basketball Finalists

T.T. Flowers, Lake County

Rachel Garland, Moore County

Kelsey Risner, Wayne County

Class AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Rachel Bell, Creek Wood

Elizabeth Masengil, McMinn Central

Abbey Sissom, Cannon County

Class AAA Miss Basketball Finalists

Shacobia Barbee, Riverdale

Nina Davis, Memphis Central

Bashaara Graves, Clarksville

Division II-A Miss Basketball Finalists

Kaylah Keys, Harding Academy

Kaylan Pugh, St. Mary's

Derica Wyatt, Franklin Road Academy

Division II-AA Miss Basketball Finalists

Chadarryl Clay, Girls Preparatory School

Lauren Douglas, Briarcrest

Christina Slay, Ensworth

Class A Mr. Basketball Finalists

Alex Fountain, Wartburg Central

Martavious Newby, Booker T. Washington

Rafael Tyler, Lake County

Class AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Craig Bradshaw, Christ Presbyterian Academy

Brandon Cole, Stone Memorial

Jalen Lindsey, Christ Presbyterian Academy

Class AAA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Cameron Golden, Ridgeway

Jajuan Johnson, Southwind

Alex Poythress, Northeast

Division II-A Mr. Basketball Finalists

John Ross Glover, University School of Jackson

Skal Labissiere, Evangelical Christian School

Cameron Payne, Lausanne

Division II-AA Mr. Basketball Finalists

Cornelius Elder, Ensworth

David Howard, Montgomery Bell Academy

Austin Nichols, Briarcrest