2013 Chattanooga election begins to take shape

2013 Chattanooga election begins to take shape

September 22nd, 2012 by Chris Carroll in Local Regional News

People vote at Burk's United Methodist Church in Hixson.

Photo by Ashlee Culverhouse /Times Free Press.


* Qualifying deadline: Dec. 20

* Election: March 2013


In the race to replace outgoing Mayor Ron Littlefield, former city employee Guy Satterfield announced his bid.

Former mayoral candidate and onetime city Parks and Recreation administrator Rob Healy said he has formed a committee to explore another mayoral run.

State Sen. Andy Berke, D-Chattanooga, has said he's running for mayor but didn't pick up a qualifying petition Friday.

Two Chattanooga City Council members picked up qualifying petitions Friday - the first day they could - but plenty more challengers showed an eagerness to begin campaigning for city elections in March 2013.

Of nine incumbents, only Councilmen Russell Gilbert and Peter Murphy filled out paperwork at the Hamilton County Election Commission on Friday. So far, Gilbert is unopposed in District 5; Murphy drew a District 9 challenger.

Others who trekked to the Election Commission:

* District 1: Tom McCullough, former principal at Signal Mountain Middle/High School. Councilwoman Deborah Scott did not pick up papers Friday, but said she would seek re-election.

* District 2: George Jackson, a corporal with the Hamilton County Sheriff's Office and chairman of the Hamilton County Young Republicans. Councilwoman Sally Robinson said this week she would not seek a fifth term.

* District 3: Ken Smith, Hixson resident and chief information officer of the Johnson Group. He'll run against Pam Ladd, who on Friday said she would seek re-election to her council seat and not run for mayor.

* District 4: Councilman Jack Benson did not pick up papers Friday but said he's running for re-election. Challengers include Chattanooga Tea Party member Larry Grohn; Ryan King, a Realtor; and Scott McColpin.

* District 5: Gilbert; no challengers.

* District 6: No one picked up papers Friday, but Councilwoman Carol Berz said she's running for re-election.

* District 7: Tramble Stephens. Councilman Manny Rico did not obtain paperwork but has said he's seeking re-election. Bluff View Art District food and beverage director Chris Anderson said intends to pick up qualifying papers next week.

* District 8: None. Incumbent Councilman Andraé McGary is the Democratic nominee in state Senate District 10.

* District 9: Murphy is challenged by Demetrus Menifee.