Bryan College business team advances

Bryan College business team advances

April 8th, 2013 by Staff Report in Local Regional News

Bryan College sign

Bryan College sign

Photo by John Rawlston /Times Free Press.

DAYTON, Tenn. - Bryan College's entrepreneurial organization Enactus - formerly Students in Free Enterprise - recently won its third regional championship and will compete at the national level in Kansas City, Mo., in May.

Team sponsor Brad Gatlin said 13 students participated in events related to the competition in Atlanta, including interviewing with prospective employers during a jobs fair.

Marica Merck, director of career services, said six students were offered jobs and three were offered summer internships as a result of their interviews.

To earn the regional championship, Enactus team members presented results of yearlong projects for evaluation by business leaders. Projects are to "use business concepts to develop community outreach, transform lives and shape a better, more sustainable world," according to the national Enactus organization.

Bryan's projects included presenting the Reality Check program to freshmen at Rhea County High School, teaching them about the costs of everyday living; Get a Job, offering resources for finding employment; and developing Fund Your Future, giving suggestions about choosing a college and finding financial resources to pay for that education.

The team also recycled about 4,000 pounds of paper collected on campus and worked with local businesses to assist in rebranding and event promotion.

The team members are Anna Licausi, president; Taylor McFerran and Kristin Fortenberry, project leaders; Japhet Townsend, vice president finance; and Peter Boyajian, vice president marketing.

"This was a good opportunity for the students," Gatlin said.

Enactus is an organization of student, academic and business leaders committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to enable human progress.

Bryan's Enactus team is one of more than 500 similar programs in the United States.