Cleveland/Bradley Chamber honors educators

Cleveland/Bradley Chamber honors educators

March 8th, 2013 by Staff Report in Local - Breaking News

The Cleveland/Bradley Chamber of Commerce recently honored key teachers in its community.

"Education is one of the cornerstones of a growing and vibrant community," Sherry Crye, director of workforce development for the Chamber of Commerce, said. "It is also a vital part of all economic and community development initiatives in the Chamber's program of work."

System-level teachers from Bradley County Schools who were honored included Laura Calfee, Black Fox Elementary School; Barbara Harrison, Oak Grove Elementary School; and Amber Caldwell, Walker Valley High School.

System-level winners from Cleveland City Schools who were saluted included Christy Duncan, Mayfield Elementary School; Dianna Johnson, Cleveland Middle School; and Patty Puckett, Cleveland High School.

Each of the six received a check for $500 from the Cleveland/Bradley Chamber Foundation, a framed certificate, the book "The Heart of a Teacher" and an embroidered expandable briefcase.

Building-level Teachers of the Year for Bradley County Schools were Kay Elder, Black Fox Elementary; Bryan Cofer and Danny Casteel, Bradley Central; Julie Melton and Robin Lawson, Charleston Elementary; Jana Hays and Sarah Burris, Hopewell Elementary; Angela McAmis and Sheryl Rollins, Lake Forest Middle; and Jamie Seymour and Dean Heller, Michigan Avenue Elementary.

Others who represented Bradley County Schools were Robin Delgado and Sandra Donegan, North Lee Elementary; Suzanne Curtis, Oak Grove Elementary; Brian Gallaher, Angie Jordan and Kylie Machachek, Ocoee Middle; Tammy Fields and Buffy Frazier, Park View Elementary; Lori Raper and Christine Geren, Prospect Elementary; Alice Smith and Tara Snider, Taylor Elementary; Bradley Reece and Chrystal Stallings, Valley View Elementary; Donald Benton, Walker Valley High; and Nancy Smith and Marybeth Holloman, Waterville Community.

Kim Strickland was saluted for the Tennessee Christian Preparatory School.

Honored as Cleveland City Schools' building-level Teachers of the Year were Danielle DeBusk, Arnold Elementary; Holly Penix, Blythe-Bower Elementary; Judy Bianucci, E.L. Ross Elementary; Jane Littlejohn, George R. Stuart Elementary; Ronda Phillips, Yates Primary; Jim David and Loes Riggins, Cleveland Middle; Michele McMahan and Jon Souders, Cleveland High; and Blair Deacon, Teen Learning Center.