The Times Free Press wins journalism prizes

The Times Free Press wins journalism prizes

May 11th, 2013 by Staff Report in Local - Breaking News

The Times Free Press won 13 first-place awards of excellence in the Golden Press Card awards sponsored by the East Tennessee chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

The newspaper also won seven second-place awards of merit at the ceremony Friday in Knoxville. It also won five third place awards and one honorable mention.

Winning entries were:

• Deadline/Breaking News reporting

Pam Sohn "World of Destruction" on March tornado, award of excellence (first place).

• General Reporting

Chris Carroll and Kate Harrison on U.S. Rep. Scott DesJarlais, award of merit (second place).

• Feature Reporting

Joan Garrett's Tempest, award of excellence (first place).

Pam Sohn's and Kate Harrison's Chattanooga Underground, honorable mention.

• Investigative Reporting

Judy Walton's 10th Judicial District coverage, award of merit (second place).

• Series/package/project writing

Judy Walton's coverage of the 10 Judicial District, third place.

• Sports Reporting

Stephen Hargis, Pay for area coaches, award of excellence (first place).

David Paschall's Kiffin's Failed Class, award of merit (second place).

Mark Wiedmer feature, third place.

• Editorial writing

Harry Austin, award of excellence (first place).

Drew Johnson, award of merit (second place).

• Personal columns

David Cook, award of excellence (first place).

Mark Kennedy's Life Stories, third place.

• Headline

Dan Woods, award of excellence (first place).

• Page One Design

Nick Fowler, award of excellence (first place).

• Inside Page Design

Sara Jackson, award of excellence (first place).

Stacey McCray, award of merit (second place).

Lin Parker, third place.

• Art Illustration

Laura McNutt, award of excellence (first place).

• Editorial cartoons

Clay Bennett, award of excellence (first place).

• Best Internet Site

The website, award of excellence (first place).

• Photos

Dan Henry, award of excellence (first place) for feature photography.

Doug Strickland, award of excellence (first place) for deadline photography

Angela Lewis, award of merit (second place) for deadline photography.

Doug Strickland, third place for deadline photography.