Pete McDonald named president of Georgia Northwestern Technical College

Pete McDonald named president of Georgia Northwestern Technical College

September 6th, 2013 by Jeff LaFave in Local Regional News

Pete McDonald

Pete McDonald

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.

Pete McDonald has been named president of Georgia Northwestern Technical College, the state board that oversees the Technical College System of Georgia said Thursday.

McDonald has been acting president at Georgia Northwestern since April, when Dr. Craig McDaniel stepped down. He previously had been associated with the college since 1995 when he became vice president of economic development.

"I know that Pete McDonald is one of the very best economic development professionals in the state," Commissioner Ron Jackson said. "He's also a top-notch administrator who has made many valuable contributions to Georgia Northwestern Technical College and the people of the region it serves. He understands the business of education, where students are always his focus and workforce development is his aim."

Jackson said he is "very confident in [McDonald's] excellent skills and abilities, and I know that he'll prove to be a great president."

McDonald's background draws extensively on technology, including experience as a computer programmer and work as a project leader and software development manager in Rome, Ga. He was a past president of Rome-Floyd County's Habitat for Humanity branch.

"When it comes to workforce development and providing the technical skills that are necessary in the workplace, Pete McDonald's name is the one that comes to mind," said Joe Yarbrough, who serves on the state board. "He's very conscious about doing the right things for the community and the industry, and he is always very accessible."

McDonald earned his master's degree in business administration degree from Berry College and a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Georgia.

Georgia Northwestern Technical College serves Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Polk, Walker and Whitfield counties.

Contact staff writer Jeff LaFave at 423-757-6592 or