Election results for counties around the Chattanooga area

Election results for counties around the Chattanooga area

August 8th, 2014 by Staff Reports in Local - Breaking News

Document: Bledsoe County Election Results

Bledsoe County Elections Report

Document: Grundy County Election Results

Grundy County Election Results

Document: Marion County Cumulative Unofficial Report

Document: Sequatchie County Election Summary


Incumbents in Bledsoe's sheriff and county mayor races were a mixed bag against their foes on Thursday's ballot.

In the sheriff's race, two-term incumbent Republican Jimmy Morris defeated Democrat Doug Roberson, according to election commission officials.

In the county mayor race between incumbent mayor Robert "Bobby" Collier, a Democrat, and Republican former two-term mayor Gregg Ridley, Collier lost to Ridley. Vote tallies were not available at press time.


There were no incumbents in races for Grundy's county mayor and sheriff so new faces were a sure bet. No results were available at press time. The sheriff's race was between Democrat Clint Shrum and Independent Russell Baker, and the county mayor race was between Republican Aubrey Lee Harper and Democrat Michael Brady.


With the incumbent out in the primary, the county mayor's race in Marion County was between Republican Paul West, longtime member of law enforcement and fire departments, and Democrat David Jackson, longtime mayor of Kimball.

The race was decisive with Jackson defeating West 3,069 votes to 1,958.

Longtime incumbent Democrat County Clerk Dwight Minter soundly defeated Republican challenger Vernon Coffman 4,104 votes of 933.


Two of the most powerful seats in McMinn County were decided in May, when county mayor and sheriff incumbents John Gentry and Joe Guy, respectively, defeated fellow GOP candidates in the county primary. Neither faced Democratic opposition Thursday.

Gentry was re-elected to his fourth term Thursday and Guy was re-elected to his second.

McMinn County Democrats had slim pickings, with only three local races in the county general election featuring a Democrat candidate: assessor of property, county clerk and highway commissioner.

Of those three, only one - Evonne Hoback in the county clerk race - scored a victory.

Republicans, on the other hand, fielded 29 candidates on the county general ballot, which featured 21 unopposed races.


The field of candidates vying for Meigs' empty county mayor seat was in May's primary whittled down to Democrat Jeremy Bivens and Republican Bill James - a former student, teacher combo. The two faced off in Thursday's county general election, with James coming up with the win.

Meanwhile, 18 candidates ran for Meigs' 10 county commission seats. All five commission districts get two elected officials.

The general sessions judge race featured two independents, Jayne Johnston Crowley and Casey M. Stokes, Thursday's winners. The circuit court clerk spot was taken by Democrat Darrell Davis.


Republican Steve Ross handily defeated Democrat Rocky King in a hot sheriff's race. He replaces Bill Davis, who did not seek re-election.

Democrat Hoyt Firestone won re-election as the county executive, defeating Republican challenger Scott Yates and write-in challenger Anna Clark.

In county commission races, Democrats Wendall "Buster" Lewis and John Hoyt Pippenger were re-elected in District 1 and Democrat Mark Bishop defeated Republican incumbent James Woody. In the 2nd District, Democrats Greg Brooks and Mike Curbow were re-elected, while incumbent Isaac "Buster" Bramlett lost and Independent Karen Bracken was elected.

In the 3rd District Republican Sheena Gaddis and Democrat Darren Waters retained their seats and Democrat Daniel Deal regained a seat he lost in 2010. Republicans Randall J. Davis and Earl Tipton lost.


The Republican primary race in House District 31 was a bitter rematch. State. Rep. Ron Travis, R-Dayton, unseated former state Rep. Jim Cobb, R-Spring City, in August 2012. On Thursday Travis defeated Cobb for the second time in two years, this time by wider margins.

The General Sessions judge race pitted Carol Ann Barron, R-Dayton; J. Shannon Garrison, D-Dayton; and Larry Roddy, I-Dayton, against one other in pursuit of the seat left open by the retirement of Judge James McKenzie. All three candidates currently practice law.

In the months leading up to Thursday's vote, Barron and Roddy swapped licks on social media about Barron's past relationship with District Attorney General Mike Taylor and Roddy's alleged muckraking tactics.

And in the end, it was neither Barron or Roddy with the victory. Garrison won with roughly 50-vote margin.

Also, four of nine county commissioners were voted out.


Incumbent County Executive D. Keith Cartwright and Sheriff Ronnie Hitchcock successfully defended their seats against challengers on Thursday in local, nonpartisan races.

In the sheriff's race, Hitchcock, seeking his third term, got just enough votes at 1,762 to hold off challenger William Barker, who netted 1,716.

In the county executive's race, Cartwright, who was seeking his second term, defeated challenger Mayme Phillips, 2,371 to 964.

Staff writers Ben Benton and Alex Green and correspondent Paul Leach contributed to this report.