Times Free Press garners 18 Golden Press Card awards

Times Free Press garners 18 Golden Press Card awards

May 14th, 2014 by Staff Report in Local Regional News

The Times Free Press won 18 awards in the Golden Press Card awards sponsored by the East Tennessee chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

First-place awards of excellence went to:

• Times opinion page editor Pam Sohn for editorial writing;

• Reporter Casey Phillips for headline writing;

• Reporter Joy Lukachick for investigative reporting for her coverage of Hayes State Prison;

• Joan Garrett McClane for feature writing for "Speak No Evil;"

• McClane and Todd South for project writing for "Speak No Evil;"

• Reporter Stephen Hargis for sports reporting for "God and the Gridiron;"

• Designer Nick Fowler for Page One design;

• Photographer Dan Henry for deadline photography;

• Designer Cindy Deifenderfer for inside page design;

• Graphic artist Laura W. McNutt for informational graphics;

• McNutt for art illustration;

• Former reporter Beth Burger for deadline/breaking news for coverage of a drowning.

Second-place awards of merit went to Ben Benton for coverage of a flood in South Pittsburg; Shawn Ryan for headline writing; photographer Doug Strickland for "feature photography; and designer Jamie Pool for inside page design. Opinions editor Mark Kennedy received a third place for column writing, and reporter Kevin Hardy received an honorable mention for feature writing.