McMinn school board earns top honor

McMinn school board earns top honor

November 15th, 2010 by Jeremy Belk in News

The McMinn County School Board has been named the 2010 Board of the Year by the Tennessee School Boards Association.

McMinn County School Board:

Pat Chester, Chairman

Sharon Brown

Donna Cagle

Larry Cantrell

Joe Coleman

Kathy Dougherty

Quinten Howard

Melinda King

Mike Lowry

Henry Webb

David Pierce*

*Superintendent of McMinn County Schools

"This is a great honor," said Pat Chester, chairwoman of the McMinn County School Board.

The award was presented recently at the TSBA Annual Convention.

Chester said McMinn County also won the honor in 2006.

"I am extremely proud of our board," she said in a phone interview over the weekend.

Chester said John Forgety was superintendent of schools when the board received the award in 2006. After he retired in 2008, David Pierce became superintendent.

"It has been amazing to look back and see what we have accomplished in the last year, but I believe this has been possible because of Mr. Pierce's leadership," Chester said.

The TSBA also recognized several area school boards as being Boards of Distinction. They include Athens, Oak Ridge, Rhea County, Roane County, Sequatchie County and Sweetwater.

To receive the distinction, a school board must have outstanding performance in planning, policy, promotion and board development.

For more information about the TSBA, visit