Filing deadline nears for candidates seeking to fill Bradley County vacancies

Filing deadline nears for candidates seeking to fill Bradley County vacancies

December 6th, 2011 by Randall Higgins in News

Mr. Cliff Eason

Mr. Cliff Eason

CLEVELAND, Tenn. - Thursday at noon is the deadline for candidates to submit petitions to run for an unfinished term as Bradley County commissioner in the 4th District.

Six candidates had returned petitions Monday when the Bradley County Election Commission met. Two other petitions have been picked up but not returned.

Two years remain in the four-year term once held by Howard Thompson. The County Commission appointed Cliff Eason to fill the vacancy.

Petitions have been returned by Eason, Charles Bagley, Paul Elrod, Charlotte Jones, James Peters and Jim Smith.

In other business, Election Commission Chairwoman Theba Hamilton said the concession stand at the Blue Springs ballparks has been offered by the county's Parks and Recreation Department as a polling place, substituting for Blue Springs Elementary School that was demolished in the April tornadoes.

"We plan to go down there for our January meeting," she said, "and look it over."

Another county office vacancy to be filled is that of 7th District constable. That vacancy was created with the election of Charlie McKenzie to the Cleveland City Council, and the County Commission appointed Ed Lewis to fill it.

So far Lewis is the only candidate to file an official petition for 2012.

Along with the presidential preference candidates, Republican national convention delegates and the commission seat, the March primary also includes the county property assessor.

Local primaries will nominate candidates in March to be on the August 2012 county general election ballot.

Also on Monday, the Election Commission addressed issues related to next year's voting.

The commission moved a 1st District precinct into the 7th District as a final redistricting move from the 2010 census.

"This change came from the County Commission's redistricting committee to the commission," said Wayne Owenby, county geographic information systems director.

Contact Randall Higgins at or 423-314-1029.