McCallie honors four teachers

McCallie honors four teachers

October 2nd, 2011 by Staff Report in News

The McCallie Faculty Fellows program announced four honorees last week.

The 2011 fellows include Lew Cisto, music department chairman; Bill Jamieson, Middle School English teacher; Jason Jones, Upper School classics teacher; and Michael Lowry, Upper School science teacher.

The fellows program honors teachers and rewards educators who leave a lasting effect on students' academic and character development, McCallie officials said.

A committee uses classroom observations, class surveys, a professional improvement plan, department input, response to strategic questions, a personal teaching portfolio and nominations from alumni and parents to select fellows.

An endowment provides a monetary reward for each honoree.