Three candidates vie for Trenton, Ga., mayor post

Three candidates vie for Trenton, Ga., mayor post

September 11th, 2011 by Andy Johns in News

Trenton Mayor Barton Harris

Trenton Mayor Barton Harris

Anthony Emanuel is the mayor of Trenton, Ga.

Anthony Emanuel is the mayor of Trenton, Ga.

Photo by Tim Barber /Times Free Press.

Voters in Trenton, Ga., will have three candidates to chose from when selecting their mayor, but choices are slimmer in other Dade and Chattooga county races.

Incumbent Trenton Mayor Barton Harris will face former County Commissioner Tommy Lowery and former mayor Anthony Emanuel in a bid to keep his office.

Two other incumbents, Fire and Utilities Commissioner Tommy Lawson and Street Commissioner Greg Houts, will be unopposed on the Trenton ballot.

Election Day is Nov. 8 with early voting opening Oct. 17 or 18 in most cities.

Incumbents are hard to find in Trion, where all four seats on the ballot will go to newcomers because no incumbents are running for re-election.

"We're going to have all new people. It is unusual," said City Clerk Patty Hill. "Maybe the ones who had been there just decided to let someone else do it for a little while."

For Trion Town Council, full-time student Thomas Venn will run unopposed for Seat 4, while insurance agent Tonya Abernathy and purchasing agent Christina Slayton will battle for the Seat 5 post.

On the Trion School Board, Joe Middleton will run unopposed for Seat 5, while therapy assistant Kari Maddux and electrician Charles Martin will compete for votes in the Seat 4 race.

Elsewhere in Chattooga County, three seats will be up for election in Summerville along with four more in Menlo.

In Summerville, Dale Housch will run unopposed for the council's Seat 3, but Richard Lindsay and Joe Money Jr. will compete in the Seat 4 race. Incumbent Zachary Martin will square off against John "J.T." Turner for Seat 5.

Menlo's ballot will include Theresa Canada running unopposed for mayor, Chuck Powell unopposed for Seat 1 and Virginia Welch unopposed for Seat 2. Patricia Bentley and Jeff Minchew will compete for council Seat 5.

Lyerly does not have any local elections scheduled for 2011.