UTC names five finalists for chancellor post

UTC names five finalists for chancellor post

January 2nd, 2013 by Staff Report in News

Staff Photo by Dan Henry

Staff Photo by Dan Henry

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga chancellor search committee has selected five finalists to bring to campus for open forums, according to a news release.

The new chancellor will succeed Roger Brown, who retired Sept. 30.

Parker Executive Search helped the search committee with the process, which began in late August.

"We had a strong pool of candidates, and our committee was very diligent in reviewing the experience and achievements of each candidate to narrow the list to five outstanding individuals," search committee chairman Larry Arrington said in a news release. Arrington is chancellor of the UT Institute of Agriculture.

The finalists are:

• Diane D. Allen, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs and professor at Salisbury University

• Steve Angle, senior vice president and professor at Wright State University

• Jorge Haddock, dean of the School of Management and professor at George Mason University

• Harold P. Jones, dean of the School of Health Professions at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

• James D. Moran III, vice chancellor for academic and student affairs for the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education