Aaron Murray, Jarvis Jones are UGA MVPs

Aaron Murray, Jarvis Jones are UGA MVPs

December 10th, 2012 by David Paschall in Sports College08football

Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray has guided the Bulldogs offense to one of the best seasons in school history.

Photo by Associated Press /Times Free Press.

Jarvis Jones of the University of Georgia.

Jarvis Jones of the University of Georgia.

Photo by Contributed Photo /Times Free Press.

Junior quarterback Aaron Murray and junior outside linebacker Jarvis Jones were recipients of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Players of the Year award Saturday night as Georgia's football team held its annual team gala in Athens.

Murray was named the team's most valuable offensive player, while Jones and junior inside linebacker Alec Ogletree shared MVP honors on defense. Sophomore safety Connor Norman and junior cornerback Blake Sailors were voted most valuable on special teams.

Jones also was named Georgia's overall permanent captain for 2012.

The Bulldogs won the SEC East Division before losing the league championship to Alabama, 32-28. They are 11-2 and ranked No. 5 entering the Capital One Bowl against No. 21 Nebraska on New Year's Day, with bowl practice set to begin Wednesday.

Murray and senior wide receiver Tavarres King were elected offensive captains, while senior safety Shawn Williams was chosen the defensive captain. Senior snapper Ty Frix from Calhoun was named special teams captain.

Junior tight end Arthur Lynch, junior fullback Alexander Ogletree, sophomore cornerback Damian Swann and sophomore safety Corey Moore received awards as most improved players. Newcomers of the year were tailbacks Todd Gurley and Keith Marshall, linebacker Jordan Jenkins, cornerback Sheldon Dawson and punter Collin Barber.