Six set for UTC hall inductions

Six set for UTC hall inductions

February 11th, 2012 by Staff Report in Sports - College

Shannon Wommack Robbins already is in the Southern Conference Hall of Fame for her accomplishments as a University of Tennessee at Chattanooga runner.

On Feb. 24 the five-time All-American will be going into the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame along with football players Mike Hunt and Brent Johnson, basketball player Wes Moore, wrestler Jon Sioredas and tennis coach Alice Tym.

Their induction ceremony will be part of a banquet at Chattanooga Golf and Country Club, and tickets cost $30, available through the UTC Alumni Office.

Additionally, UTC golfer Stephan Jaeger will receive the annual Scrappy Moore Award as the student-athlete best exemplifying excellence athletically, academically and socially, and businessman and former Mocs football player John Murphy will receive the Joe Morrison Award for notable post-UTC accomplishments. The Gordon Davenport Award for someone in the community who has shown outstanding commitment to UTC athletics is going to the Guerry Family.

Robbins is newly eligible with the five-year wait rule for induction. She was a SoCon runner of the year nine times in cross country, indoor track and outdoor track in her 2002-06 Lady Mocs career, and she was a two-time Academic All-American. She had All-America finishes in NCAA cross country races in 2004 and '05 and national outdoor track meets her last three seasons.

She earned a physical therapy doctorate from UTC in 2007 and works at Marino Therapy Center in Maryville, Tenn.

Sioredas was a SoCon champion both years he wrestled for the Mocs after transferring from Missouri and was the conference wrestler of the year and an All-American in 2005, when he went 29-4 and finished fifth in the NCAA tournament, pacing a 21st-place showing for UTC.

He now is an assistant wrestling coach at Old Dominion University.

Moore ended his 1996-99 basketball career as the Mocs' all-time leader in steals with 198 and a co-leader in assists at 414, although Keegan Bell surpassed that latter total this season, but he is best remembered as the point guard for the Sweet 16 team in 1997. Moore, previously an all-state player at Chattanooga Christian School, averaged 7.5 points a game as a four-year UTC starter and 9.4 points as a junior, when he shot 42.3 percent from 3-point range.

He earned bachelor's and master's degrees from UTC and is a local high school teacher and coach.

Johnson was another local standout who made his mark as a Moc, following stardom at Red Bank High School with a 1982-85 UTC career in which he started every game in the offensive line and was part of 26 wins and ultimately the 1984 SoCon championship. A team captain as a senior, he had bachelor's and master's degrees before finishing his college playing career and then was an All-Arena League selection and played three games with the Chicago Bears in 1987.

Johnson is a BlueCross BlueShield account executive and lives on Signal Mountain.

Hunt played in the UTC secondary with current Mocs coach Russ Huesman and was part of SoCon title teams in 1978 and '79, then was All-SoCon in 1980 and '81. He earned All-America honorable mention as a team captain in 1980 and was a member of the Times Free Press Mocs All-Century Team.

Hunt received his business education degree in 1983 and now is the managing director of Energy Trading at Dominion Resources, Inc., in Midlothivan, Va.

Tym started the UTC women's tennis program in 1974 and led the Lady Mocs to AIAW national championships in 1977 and '78. She also coached at Florida and Yale, among other schools, and is in the University of Florida Sports Hall of Fame and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Hall of Fame.

Also notable for her playing career, Tym is in the Lawn Tennis Club -- for people who have represented their countries in international play -- and has studied in China and Japan. She teaches full-time in UTC's geography department.