Cleveland State Community College inductions Feb. 9

Cleveland State Community College inductions Feb. 9

January 29th, 2013 by Staff Report in Sports - College

Cleveland State Community College is inducting 25 in its first Hall of Fame class in ceremonies Feb. 9. The inaugural honorees all represent the 1967-80 period of Cougars and Lady Cougars athletics.

After a brunch at 10:30 a.m. at the Mountain View Inn in Cleveland, the inductees will be recognized again between the school's afternoon basketball games against Chattanooga State. The former athletes in the inaugural class include Steve Williams and Gene Meadows for men's basketball; Zandra Montgomery, Data Caldwell, Liz Hannah Jackson and Melinda Shell for women's basketball; Rhonda Snow and Kim Gentry for softball; Mike Fitzgerald, Mike Moore, Scott Bell, Ted May and Larry Simcox for baseball; Jim Gibson, Dr. Lynn Griffith and Ralph Buckner Jr. for tennis; and Mike Benson, Tom Maupin and Winston Prince for golf.

Joe Crabtree, the school's first basketball coach; former women's basketball and softball coach Hugh Walker; 1980 national-runner-up baseball coach Steve Longley; longtime athletic director and school vice president Jim Cigliano; and meritorious service honorees Robert Kincaid and Norma Davis also are part of the initial induction group.

"This inaugural Hall of Fame class recognizes the history and success of Cleveland State athletics," athletic director Mike Policastro said in a school release. "I am pleased that we now have a way to honor the outstanding student-athletes that have been associated with our athletic program."

For more information about the brunch and other activities, call 473-2271.