Tennessee Wesleyan College wins AAC men's golf tourney

Tennessee Wesleyan College wins AAC men's golf tourney

April 16th, 2014 by Staff Report in Sports - Golf

With Evan Ball and Josh Wheeler finishing first and second individually at 220 and 224, Tennessee Wesleyan College won the Appalachian Athletic Conference men's golf tournament by 15 strokes Monday and Tuesday at Governor's Towne Club in Acworth, Ga.

The Bulldogs shot 906 with a 301 and a 289 on Monday and a 316, still the best of the day, in Tuesday's difficult weather conditions. That got them an automatic spot in the NAIA national tournament.

Union College was second at 921, and Reinhardt and Milligan followed at 928 and 931.

TWC's Mike Poe was named coach of the year, and Bryan College was honored as the AAC Champions of Character team. Bryan finished ninth out of 11 teams in the tournament, and the Lions' Tom Durbin tied for 13th individually with his 232. Dean Hoare started with a 71 and wound up tied for 18th.