Eight local players from Baylor and McCallie named Tennessee Div. II-AA all-state

Eight local players from Baylor and McCallie named Tennessee Div. II-AA all-state

December 20th, 2011 by Stephen Hargis in Sports - Preps

Coach Phil Massey leads practice at Baylor School in this file photo.

Coach Phil Massey leads practice at Baylor School...

Photo by Staff Photo by Phil Massey

Five Baylor players, including two TSSAA Mr. Football award winners, and three from McCallie have been named to the Tennessee Sports Writers Association's Division II-AA all-state team.

Red Raiders kicker Henrique Ribeiro and offensive lineman Barrett Gouger, who won D-II Mr. Football honors, are joined by Baylor quarterback Matthew Oellerich, lineman Chase Beard and linebacker Colton Jumper.

McCallie running back Daniel McClure, offensive lineman Tye Youngblood and linebacker Hayden Cronan also earned first-team honors.

In his first full season as Baylor's starting quarterback, Oellerich was a heady dual threat who totaled more than 2,000 yards of offense to help the Red Raiders reach the Division II-AA state championship game for a second straight season.

"Obviously this is another positive step for our program, to have that type respect to have so many kids earn that honor," Baylor coach Phil Massey said. "As a head coach I'm really proud for our kids to receive these honors. It's huge for our program and what we're trying to build, to know that we're respected that much around the state.

"I don't remember our program ever having that many kids named to an all-state team, so that's pretty exciting for us."

McClure rushed for more than 1,500 yards and 14 TDs to help the Blue Tornado reach the state quarterfinals.

TSWA Division II-AA All-State


QB--C.J. Beathard (Battle Ground Academy), Matthew Oellerich (Baylor); RB--Corn Elder (Ensworth), Jordan Wilkins (St. Benedict), Daniel McClure (McCallie); WR--Cory Batey (Ensworth), Jordan Smith (Battle Ground Academy), Al Thompson (Brentwood Academy); OL--Graham Shuler (Brentwood Academy), Blake Bars (Montgomery Bell Academy), Barrett Gouger (Baylor), Chase Beard (Baylor), Tye Youngblood (McCallie), Ben Still (Memphis Univ. School), John Powell (Montgomery Bell Academy); ATH--Jamonte Graham (Father Ryan); K--Henrique Ribeiro (Baylor), John Arnold (Father Ryan).


DL--Chase Robison (Christian Brothers), Woody Baron (Brentwood Academy), Michael Sawyers (Ensworth), Amos Mason (Brentwood Academy), Kimani Roberts (Battle Ground Academy); LB--Blake Thomson (Battle Ground Academy), T.J. Holmes (Father Ryan), Colton Jumper (Baylor), Hayden Cronan (McCallie), Austin Prevost (Ensworth); DB--Alex Dale (Memphis Univ. School), Salem Smith (Christian Brothers), Ryan Bossung (Father Ryan), Rico Watson (Ensworth); P--Toby Baker (Memphis Univ. School).

Coach: Ricky Bowers (Ensworth).

TSWA Division II-A All-State


QB--Brent Rooker (Evangelical Christian), Ryan Garner (Univ. School of Jackson); RB--Caleb Blance (Knoxville Webb), Omar Williams (St. George's), Michael Carr (Harding Academy); WR--Chase Rushing (Univ. School of Jackson), Dre Bowles (Jackson Christian), Lee Mayhall (Univ. School of Jackson), Matt Brown (Harding Academy); OL--Brandon Hill (St. George's), Hugh Stephens (St. George's), Tyler Harrison (Knoxville Webb), Adam Boling (Univ. School of Jackson), Chase Nelson (Univ. School of Jackson), Carver Hibbett (Mt. Juliet Christian); ATH--Josh Kimberlin (Southern Baptist Education Center); Zillon Porter (Davidson Academy); K--Robby Strachan (Knoxville Webb).


DL--Josh Klesges (St. George's), Chase Hensley (Univ. School of Jackson), Neil Butler (Knoxville Webb), Skip Garner (Knoxville Webb), Grant Mansfield (Univ. School of Jackson); LB--Brewer Congleton (Knoxville Webb), Aubrey Dixon (Davidson Academy), Ross DeJarnatt (Jackson Christian), Jim Dolinak (Knoxville Webb), Walker Jones (Evangelical Christian), Hunter Lindley (St. George's); DB--Steve Wilson (Davidson Academy), Todd Kelly Jr. (Knoxville Webb), Bryan Berube (Knoxville Webb), Chris Armfield (Evangelical Christian), Drew Bishop (St. George's); P--Jack Grayson (Knoxville Webb).

Coach: Brent Hill (St. George's).