Area 18 all-state in soccer

Area 18 all-state in soccer

December 30th, 2011 by Gene Henley in Sports - Preps

Eighteen area players were chosen to the Tennessee Sports Writers Association's 2011 all-state girls' soccer team.

Division II-AA state champion Baylor had six selections, and Notre Dame, Chattanooga Christian and Soddy-Daisy each had three. Boyd-Buchanan, Signal Mountain and GPS had one all-state player apiece.

Baylor had forwards McKenzie Thomas and Chloe Brackett, midfielders Grace Stewart and Peyton Thomas and defenders Paige Elliott and Teni Butler on the Division II team along with GPS goalkeeper Simone Busby, and Baylor's Jimmy Weekley was the coach of the year. McKenzie Thomas had 18 goals and six assists this season, while her sister had 10 goals and eight assists.

Brackett had 12 goals and six assists, Elliott was the 2010 Division II-AA state final MVP, Butler was the back line of defense and midfielder Stewart had three goals and two assists. Busby had a 1.10 goals-against average.

Soddy-Daisy had forward Summer Lanter, who finished with an area-high 32 goals, make the Class AAA team along with senior teammate Hannah Wyatt, selected as a midfielder, and senior goalkeeper Haley Myers. Wyatt had 25 assists this season, and Myers allowed only 15 goals in 23 matches.

Notre Dame's Grace Courter made the Class A/AA team for the second straight season as a goalkeeper, while senior defender Ashley Henry and midfielder Gaby Gurrola joined he. CCS's Natalie Thedford made the team as a midfielder with 17 goals and 10 assists. Teammate Lauren Pruett had 16 shutouts in goal and junior defender Allie Sullivan scored five goals.

Allana Barnes had 25 goals for Boyd-Buchanan, which fell in the District 5 semifinals. Signal Mountain's Becca Blevins, whose Lady Eagles fell in the district semifinals as well, had 12 goals and six assists in 11 games.


Class A/AA

Goalkeepers: Grace Courter, Notre Dame; Lauren Pruitt, Chattanooga Christian; Meredith Roman, Christ Presbyterian Acad.. Defenders: Ellie Ambrose, Christ Presbyterian Acad.; Laura Foster, Christian Acad. of Knoxville; Laura Haun, Berean Christian; Ashley Henry, Notre Dame; Lidia Smith, Madison Academic; Allie Sullivan, Chattanooga Christian; Callie West, Alcoa. Midfielders: Allana Barnes, Boyd-Buchanan; Sara Dillon, Christian Acad. of Knoxville; Paige Hoffman, Christian Acad. of Knoxville; Gaby Gurrola, Notre Dame; Abi Kania, Christ Presbyterian Acad.; Natalie Thedford, Chattanooga Christian. Forwards: Kiah Allen, Christian Acad. of Knoxville; Becca Blevins, Signal Mountain; Celina Ferrell, Fairview; Kendall Morrison, White House; Karsen Sims, Gatlinburg-Pittman; Kelsey Wilkes, Page. Coach of the Year: Ried Estus, CAK

Class AAA

Goalkeepers: Kelsey Brouwer, Centennial; Jona Charles, Science Hill; Kelsey Cunningham, Houston; Haley Myers, Soddy-Daisy. Defenders: Shelby Coleman, Oakland; Gracie Irby, Germantown; Josie Jennings, Farragut; Heather Murphy, Farragut; Alyse Rothenberger, Ravenwood; Taylor Smith, Collierville; Joann Street, Franklin. Midfielders: Lauren Albright, Houston; Jessica Hiskey, Franklin; Morgan Key-Adams, Franklin; Rebecca Stover, Bearden; Allie Wiles, Henry County; Hannah Wyatt, Soddy-Daisy; Samantha Hogan, Hendersonville. Forwards: Skylar Brewer, Farragut; McKenzie Bricker, Collierville; Kristi Granger, Bearden; Olivia Harrison, Houston; Tori Hawkins, Siegel; Summer Lanter, Soddy-Daisy; Ashley Naumoff, Lenoir City; Chesney White, Franklin. Coach of the Year: Jimmy Burchett, Franklin

Division II

Goalkeepers: Simone Busby, GPS; Carrie Cobb, Univ. School of Jackson; Amy Mirro, St. George's. Defenders: Teni Butler, Baylor; Melissa Capocaccia, St. Agnes; Paige Elliott, Baylor; Sarah Galvin, Pope John Paul II; Hallee Hunt, Franklin Road Acad.; Shelby Jordan, Univ. School of Jackson; Mackenzie Parma, St. Agnes. Midfielders: Carly Bowen, Franklin Road Acad.; Sydney Eddy, Battle Ground Acad.; Gretchen Harknett, Briarcrest; Mary Ruth Locastro, St. Agnes; Grace Stewart, Baylor; Peyton Thomas, Baylor. Forwards: Chloe Brackett, Baylor; Bethany Bunker, St. Agnes; Tori Fitzgerald, St. George's; Cailin Harris, Pope John Paul II; Honeye Heydari, USJ; Cara Ledman, Battle Ground; Allie Oliver, Evangelical Christian; McKenzie Thomas, Baylor. Coach of the Year: Jimmy Weekley, Baylor