Four of Baylor's Red Raiders make all-state

Four of Baylor's Red Raiders make all-state

December 18th, 2012 by Stephen Hargis in Sports - Preps

Baylor's Colton Jumper was selected as part of the paper's Dynamite Dozen football players.

Photo by Jake Daniels /Times Free Press.

Julian Nunally

Julian Nunally

Photo by John Rawlston /Times Free Press.

Division II-A All-State

Coach of the Year: David Meske (Knoxville Webb)


QB -- Brent Rooker (Evangelical Christian), Ryan Garner (Univ. School of Jackson); RB -- Powers Spencer (Univ. School of Jackson), Marcus Miller (Fayette Acad.), Aaron Blance (Knoxville Webb), Robby Strachan (Knoxville Webb); WR -- Austin Orr (Univ. School of Jackson); OL -- Chase Hensley (Univ. School of Jackson), Skip Garner (Knoxville Webb), Andrew Campbell (Knoxville Webb), Zach Weaver (Harding Acad.), Tyler Buckley (Univ. School of Jackson); K -- Troy Smigielski (Univ. School of Jackson).


DL -- Mack Weaver (Harding Acad.), Dylan Young (St. George's), Carter Thomas (Knoxville Webb), Stephen Davis (Davidson Acad.); LB -- Walker Jones (Evangelical Christian); Bennett Harrison (Knoxville Webb); Tyler Hardin (Univ. School of Jackson), Joseph Patterson (Univ. School of Jackson); DB -- Steve Wilson (Davidson Acad.), Dalton Ponchillia (Franklin Road Acad.), Todd Kelly Jr. (Knoxville Webb), Brock Beeler (Knoxville Webb); P -- Jack Grayson (Knoxville Webb).

Division II-AA All-State

Coach of the Year: Ricky Bowers (Ensworth)


QB -- Jordan Rodgers (Memphis Univ. School), Max Staver (Brentwood Acad.), Andrew Bowers (Ensworth); RB -- Ramadi Warren (Christian Brothers), Corn Elder (Ensworth); WR -- Devin Perry (Memphis Univ. School), Jalen Ramsey (Brentwood Acad.); OL -- Alexander Karr (Christian Brothers), Arbre Jones (Memphis Univ. School), Julian Nunally (McCallie), Alex Bars (Montgomery Bell Acad.), Michael Sawyers (Ensworth), Parker Wade (Ensworth); K -- Rafael Gaglianone (Baylor).


DL -- Derek Barnett (Brentwood Acad.), Amos Mason (Brentwood Acad.), Will Thomas (Baylor), Derrick Green (Baylor), Xavier Forrest (Ensworth), Jashon Robertson (Montgomery Bell Acad.); LB -- Colton Jumper (Baylor), Peyton Klawinski (Memphis Univ. School), Ford Howell (Memphis Univ. School), Alex Ashlock (St. Benedict); DB -- D'Montre Wade (Brentwood Acad.), Jamonte Graham (Father Ryan), Chris Carrier (Christian Brothers), Donovan Sheffield (Ensworth), Justin Loyd (Ensworth); P -- Gary Wunderlich (Memphis Univ. School).

Of Baylor School's four all-state players, two will return for next season. The Tennessee Sports Writers Association has released its Division II all-state teams, with four Baylor players and one from McCallie earning recognition.

Baylor senior defensive lineman Derrick Green and senior linebacker Colton Jumper were joined by junior teammates Will Thomas, a defensive lineman, and kicker Rafael Gaglianone as well as McCallie offensive lineman Julian Nunally.

"It's an honor for each of those individuals as well as our whole team," Baylor coach Phil Massey said. "It's nice that our kids and our program are getting recognized for their talents and our style of play."

The 6-foot-1, 315-pound Green was a two-way starter, taking over the noseguard position while maintaining his starting spot on the offensive line. Jumper, a 6-3, 220-pound three-year starter, led the Red Raiders with 58.5 tackles and had 10 tackles for loss, two interceptions and a blocked field goal.

"Colton was our leader and captain on defense," Massey said. "He led our team in most defensive categories, and I'm glad he gets to go out as an all-state player. He deserves it. Derrick was a very productive two-way player for us. He probably exceeded all our expectations this year."

After moving from linebacker to defensive line this year, Thomas made 24 tackles for loss, which ranked third in the Chattanooga area, and Gaglianone was a state Mr. Football finalist for Kicker of the Year. He made 10 field goals, including two of 50-plus yards.

"Will is an unselfish team player that made the move and ended up being very productive for us there," Massey said. "And the best thing about him and Rafael is that they're back next year."