2013 - Gordon Central Warriors

2013 - Gordon Central Warriors

August 16th, 2013 by David Uchiyama in Sports - Preps

After losing most of their skill players from last year's eight-win team, Gordon Central will rely on an experienced line.

Photo by David Uchiyama /Times Free Press.

Gordon Central Warriors

Coach: David Humphreys (first year)

Last year: 8-3, lost to Morgan County in the GHSA playoffs

'13 dreams: It seemed that every play had drama last year. Potential existed for a touchdown on every play. Potential also existed for the other team ending with the ball at the end of every play. With offensive coordinator Humphreys taking over for former head coach Chad Fisher, the offense in particular will be different. "My background is in the option game, and our personnel doesn't lend itself to throwing the ball as much as we did last year," Humphreys said.

13-for-13 contenders: There are still a handful of upperclassmen who will be guiding the team through rough-and-tumble growing pains - and most of them are linemen. Junior tight end Nate Mays (6-foot-2, 195) also played linebacker last season and will fill the role of UTC freshman D.J. Prather. Senior linemen Jacob Mitchell (6-1, 230) and Bo Dooley (6-1, 260) also have been in the fire.

Number of interest: 31. That's the number of touchdown passes thrown last season by current Georgia State player M.J. Reynolds.

13 years ago: The Warriors went 4-6 with wins at Southeast Whitfield, Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe, LaFayette and Dalton while Humpreys assisted at Rome High School. Don't expect so many touchdown passes this year.

Program tradition: The tradition may be growing. The Gordon Central players, after each home game last year, went over to the band section of the stands and recited the alma mater song.

1-through-3: Senior lineman Bo Dooley

Q. What conditioning drill do you hate the most?

A. Either bear-crawls or log rolls. With log rolls, you lie on the field and roll all the way down the field and all the way back.

Q. What is the bravest thing that you've done on a football field?

A. I got knocked out by about three guys for another player to make a tackle.

Q. What is different this year from last?

A. Besides changing our whole offense? When you change your offense, you change everything.

2013 Schedule

Aug. 30 at Coosa

Sep. 6 at Southeast Whitfield

Sep. 13 Murray County

Sep. 20 at Ringgold

Sep. 27 Lakeview-F.O.

Oct. 4 at Coahulla Creek

Oct. 18 Cartersville

Oct. 25 at Sonoraville

Nov. 1 Adairsville

Nov. 8 North Murray

*Region 5-AAA game

2012 Stats

Passing C-A-I Pct. Yards TDs

M.J. Reynolds 148-232 6 2,249 31

Rushing Att. Yards TDs

M.J. Reynolds 107 548 7

Chris Biengel 19 163 0

Kagen Fleming 26 153 2

Receiving No. Yards TDs

Tyshawn Clemmons 33 591 8

D.J. Prather 33 425 5

Chandler Curtis 15 296 5


1 Terrance Smith Junior

2 Antoine Harris Senior

3 Montana Rogers Junior

4 Cody Smith Junior

5 Ory Holland Senior

6 Shy Williams Sophomore

7 Bristol Bell Junior

8 Colcon Carrolle Senior

9 Amad Rashid Senior

13 Cody Jones Junior

14 Will Barrera Sophomore

15 Dakota Maddox Junior

16 Nate Mayes Junior

19 Ivan Martinez

22 Zane Bass Freshman

23 Maury Coria Senior

24 Cach Daum

25 Devonte Jenkins Junior

26 Tyler Barnhardt Senior

27 Chase Barnhardt Junior

28 Mason Smith Sophomore

29 Freddy Cruz Senior

31 Zack Goble Senior

32 Joshua Williams Sophomore

33 Taylor Price Senior

35 Baylery Whittle Junior

40 Luke Holbert Freshman

41 Miachael Riel Junior

42 Noah Bingiel Sophomore

43 Martrice McClure Senior

44 Grant Thomas Sophomore

50 Sam Anderson Senior

51 Blaize Goss Freshman

52 J.J. Winston Sophomore

53 Bo Dooley Senior

54 Sam Rickett Sophomore

58 Victor Palencia Junior

60 Dylan Thomas Senior

61 Noah Hunt Sophomore

65 Nicky Walters Sophomore

66 Trey Olive Sophomore

70 Jordan Passley Sophomore

71 Cross Langley Sophomore

72 Caleb King Sophomore

73 Lee Ulman

74 Steven Whitener Sophomore

75 Daniel Moore Sophomore

76 Jacob Mitchell Senior

77 Bryan Floyd Sophomore

78 Austin Green

79 Stephen Dykes Senior

81 Hayden Murphy Sophomore

82 Jaren Bryan Senior

84 Matthew Mitchell

85 Nick Nesbitt Junior

87 Dustin Thomas Junior

88 Josh Peeler Junior