2013 - McCallie Blue Tornado

2013 - McCallie Blue Tornado

August 16th, 2013 by Ward Gossett in Sports - Preps

McCallie Blue Tornado

Coach: Ralph Potter (81-43 in 11 years here; 148-75 in 19 years overall)

Last year: 5-6, lost 37-7 to eventual state champion Ensworth in the first round of the playoffs

'13 dreams: The saying is that speed kills, and this will be the fastest team McCallie has fielded in years.The roster includes state 100-meter champ C.J. Fritz, a receiver and defensive back, and junior running back Alex Trotter, who's been clocked at 4.4 in the 40. Any optimism, though, is tempered by a lack of experience. The Blue Tornado return just three offensive and four defensive starters. There is competition at quarterback between London Elrod and Isaac Kay, a transfer from Texas who enrolled in late December. The kicker and punter join the other 2012 returners who will be in their second season with Potter, who returned to McCallie (from Brentwood Academy) following the 2011 season. As with city rival Baylor, McCallie competes in Division II-AA with the likes of Ensworth, MBA and Brentwood Academy.

13-for-13 contenders: Fritz has developed mentally and physically since turning in a 10.59 time in last year's state. Although not in one of the glory positions, Cam Walker will be depended on greatly in both lines. The 6-foot-4, 250-pounder recently clocked a 4.8 40 and could get a lot of looks if he plays as hard as he worked in the offseason. One of the team's anchors will be senior running back and linebacker Andrew Busby, one of the handful of returning starters.

Number of interest: Tyler Payne, No. 13 on the program, was listed as a quarterback for the Blue Tornado but has been moved to slot receiver. The junior has excelled as a shortstop in baseball, where he wears No. 11.

13 years ago: It was a good season although somewhat disappointing at the end. Entering the playoffs the Blue Tornado were 9-1, thanks greatly to quarterback Penn Garvich. However, they couldn't repeat an earlier win over Brentwood Academy and fell to the Eagles 13-10 in two overtimes in a first-round playoff game. They made up for it the next year, going 12-0 and winning the Division II state championship.

Program superstition: It's as much tradition as superstition, but nobody heads for the field without high-fiving the Blue Tornado painted on the wall just outside the locker-room entrance.

1-through-3: Running back Andrew Busby

Q. What's the key to success for McCallie?

A. We have to count on a lot of young guys to step up. I think the seniors have pushed each other and worked hard and set a good example.

Q. What about the league (Division II-AA) that you play in?

A. It's a pretty tough league. I like it, all the tough games we play. You're not going to beat somebody just because they're bad. You're going to have to beat them with hard work and mental preparation.

Q. What's the most important thing you've learned from Coach Potter?

A. Football isn't just a game. It's about stepping up and being a man. He's a coach with a hard shell, but there's a soft side to him. He's a genuine person.

- Ward Gossett

2013 Schedule

Aug. 23 at Cleveland

Aug. 30 McMinn County

Sep. 6 Pope John Paul II *

Sep. 13 at Seigel, 8

Sep. 20 Bowling Green

Sep. 27 at Ensworth *

Oct. 4 at Baylor *

Oct. 11 at Brentwood Academy *

Oct. 25 Father Ryan *

Nov. 1 Montgomery Bell Academy *

*Division II East/Middle game

2012 Stats

Passing C-A-I Pct. Yards TDs

Nelson Johnston 64-139-7 1,081 9

Rushing Att. Yards TDs

Chad Toliver 105 922 15

Alex Trotter 74 674 5

Receiving No. Yards TDs

Spencer Morgan 28 529 3

Eric Wolf 15 310 5


1 Myles Patton Junior

2 Hayes Cape Junior

4 Jon Luke Jenkins Sophomore

5 J.J. Lewis Junior

6 C.J. Fritz Senior

7 Matthew Brock Junior

8 London Elrod Sophomore

9 Isaac Kay Senior

10 Robert Riddle Freshman

11 Spencer Morgan Senior

12 Nic Najjar Sophomore

13 Tyler Payne Junior

14 JaVaughn Craig Sophomore

15 Jay Roberts Sophomore

16 Sam Viscomi Junior

17 Andrew Busby Senior

18 Ryan Edwards Senior

19 Andrew Sharpe Sophomore

20 Paul Silverblatt Junior

21 Henry Rice Freshman

22 Logan Friday Senior

23 Colin O'Brien Sophomore

24 Jeffery Coleman Sophomore

25 Maxim Yeoh Freshman

26 Romeo Gibbs Sophomore

27 Aidan Adair Freshman

28 Peter Briggs Sophomore

29 Gage Peeples Junior

30 Bryan Jones Senior

31 Kendall Watson Freshman

32 Alex Trotter Junior

33 Tanner Green Junior

34 Ryland Chapman Sophomore

35 Drew Viscomi Freshman

36 Jaylen Nowell Freshman

37 Tons Ferguson Sophomore

38 Peter Phillips Senior

39 Garrett Yates Junior

40 Taylor Stutz Sophomore

41 Tanner Winters Junior

42 Logan McCallie Junior

43 Jordan Elam Sophomore

45 Noah Huerta Sophomore

46 Kerrington Wilson Junior

47 Robert Jenkins Junior

48 Buster Burton Junior

49 Gavin Brown Freshman

50 Joey Belisle Sophomore

51 J.J. Moncus Junior

52 Charles Wallace Senior

53 Billy Boardman Junior

54 Charlie Lindeman Senior

55 Tyler Walker Freshman

56 Corey McDonald Sophomore

57 Jake Marsden Sophomore

58 Carson McKoon Sophomore

59 George Devaney Freshman

60 McClendon Curtis Freshman

61 Shea Longshore Junior

62 Clay Long Sophomore

63 Trei Phillips Sophomore

65 Agee Broughton Junior

66 Ethan Cady Sophomore

67 Charlie McLean Freshman

68 Kirsh Duncombe Senior

69 Josh Fleming Freshman

70 Lake Bandy Senior

71 Connor O'Brien Senior

72 Will Patton Sophomore

73 Jack Green Sophomore

74 Patrick Davis Sophomore

75 Cameron Walker Senior

78 Hunter Chance Sophomore

79 Riley Stamper Senior

80 Cruz Bautista Freshman

81 Giovanni Hightower Freshman

82 Braden Lewis Freshman

82 Adrian Thomas Sophomore

83 Blaine Pritchett Freshman

85 Evan Elinger Freshman

86 Jacob Groothuis Sophomore

87 Tyler Wilks Junior

88 Walker Frederick Sophomore

89 John Hooper Senior

98 Garrett Lunn Freshman

99 Braden Lewis Freshman