Ringgold trio on all-state 1st team

Ringgold trio on all-state 1st team

December 29th, 2013 by Staff Report in Sports - Preps

The Georgia Sportwriters Association all-state high school football teams for 2013 were released early this morning, and Ringgold had three first-team selections and a second-teamer while Northwest Whitfield had two first-teamers and a second-teamer and Calhoun had one first-team player and three second-teamers.

Dalton and Christian Heritage also had first-team selections, Ridgeland had a second-teamer and Ringgold, Calhoun and Christian Heritage had players receive honorable mention.

In Class AAAA, Northwest senior defensive lineman Isaiah Mack and senior punter Miguel Villa and Dalton junior defensive back Eder Mora made the all-state first team, and Ridgeland junior linebacker Ian Hayes and Northwest senior defensive back Tevin McDaniel were second-team picks. Mora had 159 tackles, five interceptions and four forced fumbles this season, while Mack had 27 tackles for loss among his 121 total stops and caused five fumbles and Villa averaged 42.7 yards a punt.

Ringgold senior offensive lineman Ryan Emmer, senior linebacker Dakota Baer and junior defensive lineman Zach Morris earned AAA first-team honors while senior quarterback and safety Slade Dale landed on the second team with the designation "athlete." Junior running back and defensive back Kile Sholl was an honorable-mention athlete. Baer and Morris were in on 177 and 100 tackles with 15 and 26 for lost yardage.

Calhoun was represented on the Class AA first-team defense by senior lineman Austin Byrd and on the second-team offense by senior receiver Tydus Curtis, senior lineman Katrova Dew and kicker Brandon Blaylock, with senior wideout Chandler Curtis earning honorable mention.

Christian Heritage senior receiver Nich Bartley made the Class A first team, and senior quarterback Trevor Brown and senior linebacker Evan Townsend were on the honorable-mention list.