Father Ryan wins qualifier; McCallie second, Baylor third

Father Ryan wins qualifier; McCallie second, Baylor third

February 8th, 2014 by Ward Gossett in Sports - Preps

Gallery: Photos: Riverbend Day 2

more photos

Baylor's Zach Watson controls James Simpson of Father Ryan in a 126-pound match during a dual meet at McCallie School.

Photo by John Rawlston /Times Free Press.

Medal rounds

Legend and team scores: 1. Father Ryan (FR) 273.5, 2. McCallie (McC) 239; 3. Baylor (Bay) 238, 4. Montgomery Bell Academy (MBA) 194, 5. Brentwood Academy (BA) 135, 6. Franklin Road Academy (FRA) 97, 7. Battle Ground Academy (BGA) 61, 8. Ensworth (Ens) 36, 9. Knox Webb (KW) 8.5, 10. Pope John Paul (PJP) 7, 11. St. Andrew's-Sewanee (SAS) 6, 12. Donelson Christian Academy (DCA)3.

106 pounds

For first: Eli King (FR) tech. fall over Gabriel Elkin (MBA), 5:32. For third: Jack Reynolds (Bay) major dec. Stanton Davis (McC), 10-0. For fifth: Hunter Anderson (BA) dec. Kolton Grimsley (BGA), 9-5.

113 pounds

For first: Michael Murphy (Bay) won by forfeit over Trey Chalifoux (FR). For third: Michael Elkin (MBA) won by forfeit over Justin Becci (BA). For fifth: Alex Linthium (FRA) won by forfeit over Addison Cornell (McC).

120 pounds

For first: Ethan Dendy (McC) major dec. Jared Frazier (FR), 11-3. For third: John Michael Glover (MBA) won by forfeit over Christian DiLucchio (BA). For fifth: Cannon McCullough (BGA) won by forfeit over Andy Atchley (Bay.

126 pounds

For first: James Westbrooks (McC) dec. Kirby Simpson (FR), 8-1. For third: Caleb Canada (Bay) dec. Sam Bellet (MBA), 5-2. For fifth: Jonah Neuman (BGA) pinned Jack Davidson (Ens), 0:47.

132 pounds

For first: Chris Wesnofske (FR) injury default over Brock Herring (McC). For third: Braxton Kinney (BGA) won by forfeit over Blake Solarek (MBA). For fifth: Caleb Powell (Bay) pinned Vance Lipsey (BA), 3:31.

138 pounds

For first: Adam Connell (McC) dec. Michael Eckhart (FR), 1-0. For third: Stephen Johnson (MBA) dec. Drake Mitchell (FRA), 8-7. For fifth: Rob Butler (BA) pinned Nick Savas (BGA), 3:48.

145 pounds

For first: Griffin Davis (McC) dec. Ryan Simpson (FR), 3-2. For third: Will Tansil (FRA) dec. Mark Floyd (MBA), 17-15; For fifth. Turner Troxel (Bay) won by forfeit over Mina Adeeb (PJP).

152 pounds

For first: Donovan Sutherland (Bay) dec. Marcello Morrice (FR), 6-3. For third: Will Patton (McC) pinned Samuel Stallings (Ens), 2:07. For fifth: Ben Barton (MBA) dec. Chad Young (FRA), 7-1.

160 pounds

For first: Bryson Popp (Bay) tech. fall over Nick Naughton (FR), 6:00. For third: Michael Ethan (FRA) pinned Justin Badgett (McC), 4:09. For fifth: Jake Keen (MBA) dec. Max Mullen (BA), 9-4.

170 pounds

For first: John Hagey (FR) pinned Cayman Seagraves (Bay), 3:46. For third: Ridley Wills (MBA) pinned Ariel Bong (McC), 4:08. For fifth: Sam Scruggs (BA) pinned Seth Horton (SAS), 1:41.

182 pounds

For first: Ryan Parker (Bay) pinned Nathan Hoodenpyle (McC), 1:59. For third: Blake Patton (MBA) dec. Hunter Duff (FR), 7-3. For fifth: Ryan Sealy (BA) pinned Jake Simpson (BGA), 2:42.

195 pounds

For first: Trel Phillips (McC) major dec. Jacob Cretin (BA), 14-4. For third: Houston Hooker (FR) dec. Jack Byrd (FRA), 7-2. For fifth: Emory Norred (Bay) won by forfeit over Ben Kelly (MBA).

220 pounds

For first: Ben Stacey (FR) won by forfeit over Jon Schmissrauter (Bay). For third: D'On Coofer (MBA) dec. Jonah Reels (BA), 5-2. For fifth: Jay Roberts (McC) pinned Chris Corsi (FRA), 2:34.

285 pounds

For first: Will Thomas (Bay) dec. Tucker York (BA), 13-7. For third: Miles Douglas (Ens) pinned Conner Eli (FRA), 2:50. For fifth: John Kelly (MBA) pinned William Boardman (McC), 0:57.

In a tournament nobody but the TSSAA seemed to want, Father Ryan won going away Friday at Baylor, scoring 273.5 points and qualifying 13 for next week's traditional state tournament in Franklin.

For the first time since the public/private split, Division II schools were required to have qualifying tournaments as part of their road to the state tournament.

"There were some great matches, just like there will be great matches next week," said McCallie coach Mike Newman, whose team finished second with 239 points. "I think everybody was grateful to get out of there without anybody getting hurt. There were some forfeits where one of the guys was dinged up and the coaches anticipated a similar matchup next week."

Newman was in such a hurry to leave the premises and get on to state-tournament planning that he was totally unaware that the Blue Tornado had finished a point better than city rival Baylor.

"I didn't even think about team awards," he said. "I was more worried about having our team meeting and getting everybody out of there so they could start resting up for next week."

Red Raiders coach Ben Nelson seemed to express a sentiment that ran throughout the tournament's coaching ranks. They had, after all, voted unanimously against having such a tournament.

"It seemed like a huge redundancy that was a big waste of resources -- teams having to travel and to take kids out of school," he said. "We wrestled matches that for the most part are going to be rewrestled next weekend."

The three traditional powers split the championships. Baylor and McCallie captured five apiece and Father Ryan had four. The Purple Irish ran up their point total by getting 11 to the finals.

The champions were Baylor's Michael Murphy (113), Donovan Sutherland (152), Bryson Popp (160), Ryan Parker (182) and Will Thomas (285); McCallie's Ethan Dendy (120), James Westbrooks (126), Adam Connell (138), Griffin Davis (145) and Trel Phillips (195); and Ryan's Eli King (106), Chris Wesnofske (132), John Hagey (170) and Ben Stacey (220).

Baylor, McCallie, Father Ryan and Montgomery Bell Academy each qualified at least 13 for Franklin, but Baylor, McCallie and MBA had sixth-place medalists who will have to compete in a single-elimination wrestle-in match against the West region's third-place finishers. Baylor and MBA had one each while McCallie has two.

MBA was a distant fourth with 194 points, and Brentwood Academy with 135 points was the only other team to top the century mark. Franklin Road Academy was sixth with 97, followed by Battle Ground Academy with 61, Ensworth with 36, Knoxville Webb with 8.5, Pope John Paul with 7, St. Andrew's-Sewanee with 6 and Donelson Christian Academy with 3.

Contact Ward Gossett at wgossett@timesfreepress.com or 423-886-4765. Follow him at Twitter.com/wardgossett.